iPhone phantom icons!

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by dontwalkhand, Jan 15, 2017.

  1. dontwalkhand macrumors 601

    dontwalkhand

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #1
    This has been getting really annoying and happening on both my iPhone and iPad! Every now and then I scroll through my apps and I get an app icon and the name of a totally unrelated app show up grayed out on my homescreen (example in the picture). Clicking on the app does absolutely nothing and resetting homescreen layout is the only way to get rid of them.

    Does this happen to anyone else? I can't even organize my apps the way I want to as these stupid phantom apps keep showing up.

    I have reinstalled iOS, and even got a new phone from Apple for an unrelated issue. I just don't know what it is!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #2
    I never saw anything like that. You try restore and setup as new?
    Do not restore from backup.
     
  3. blaine07 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2014
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    #3
    You perhaps installing the app on your iPad and it's set to auto install apps and it's downloading onto phone too?
     
  4. blaine07 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2014
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    #4
    [​IMG]

    I had "Apps" on and everything I installed on phone automatically was on iPad and vise Versa. Drove me crazy for a few days. Perhaps it's your issue?
     
  5. dontwalkhand thread starter macrumors 601

    dontwalkhand

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #5
    It's not that. As you can tell it's not even the correct icon for capital one. It's just a crazy looking phantom app.
     
  6. ericwn macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    #6
    I second the suggestion to set it up as new without reapplying the backup.
     
  7. foxconn Suspended

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2016
    Location:
    www
    #7
    try downloading the app that's phantom on your springboard from the App Store and then delete.
     
  8. dontwalkhand thread starter macrumors 601

    dontwalkhand

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #8
    The original app is still there! This seems to happens when the iPhone goes out and looks at the App Store and installs automatic app updates. And it happens on my iPad too! But just my phone :(. This was after a restore without backup.
     
  9. dictoresno macrumors 601

    dictoresno

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2012
    Location:
    NJ
    #9
    FYI that icon is the app "Stash Invest". I know that because I downloaded it today.

    Do you sync with iTunes over wifi? Go into iTunes and check your apps list and manually delete and bad or old app ipa files from there. I had a bunch of apps I deleted before sync to my phone out of nowhere the other day. Went into iTunes and deleted them to avoid that. Have you ever downloaded stash?
     
  10. dontwalkhand thread starter macrumors 601

    dontwalkhand

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #10
    Yes and both apps work great!
     
  11. Suckfest 9001 macrumors 6502a

    Suckfest 9001

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Location:
    Canada
    #11
    Oh, Apple. As a software developer I'm actually quite ashamed of the code quality that Apple releases these days. It's flat out embarrassing for a company with this much money to release code that appears to be written by highschool dropout script kiddies
     
  12. ericwn macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    #12
    So you have remotely analysed this issue sufficiently to blame somebody? Wow.
     
  13. Suckfest 9001 macrumors 6502a

    Suckfest 9001

    Joined:
    May 31, 2015
    Location:
    Canada
    #13
    Wow. It's clearly a software bug. Wow. It doesn't take analysis to figure out that it's doing something wrong. Wow.

    Wow.
     
  14. maxmonty macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    #14
    I have the same thing happening to me right now!
    Brand new 7 Plus. I installed whatsapp and now there's a second greyed out whatsapp icon with the name of another random app (it was Photos for a while and now it has changed to calculator)
     

Share This Page