iphone preloaded contacts

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by i3igsmooth5769, Jan 5, 2008.

  1. i3igsmooth5769 macrumors 6502a

    i3igsmooth5769

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #1
    Just wondering if the phone was meant to come with these people's contact information from apple in the contacts? just wanna make sure i didnt get someone's used phone or something
     
  2. nickspohn macrumors 68040

    nickspohn

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    #2
    uh..

    i think you got someone else's previous phone.

    are they personal or just business related?
     
  3. i3igsmooth5769 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    i3igsmooth5769

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #3
    well there under the contacts....and they all have a phone number with an area code of 555 with email addesses at mac.com
     
  4. nickspohn macrumors 68040

    nickspohn

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    #4
    hmmm. that's very interesting.

    did you get this phone new? from an apple store?
     
  5. i3igsmooth5769 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    i3igsmooth5769

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #5
    i got it brand new (supposedly) from the apple store....it was sealed.....smelled new....looked new....its a week 51....all the contacts have a first and last name with a picture of each person
     
  6. nickspohn macrumors 68040

    nickspohn

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    #6
    Hmmm, made in the beginning of December, so it's fresh at least.


    Either makes me think that this was an Apple employee's, or something from the very inside of Apple that slipped out into a consumer box, or it could very well be someones phone that they returned.

    I say the first few things because:

    1) 555 isn't a legit area code
    2) they only have mac.com emails?


    I don't know what else to say. is there anything else stored on the phone? if the contacts are still there, everything else would of stayed with the phone. (notes, calender, music, etc)
     
  7. i3igsmooth5769 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    i3igsmooth5769

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #7
    they all have mac emails.....but i just realized what it might be....i opened the phone and activated it on one of the computers in the mac store....so perhaps it syncd that information from the intunes on that computer?
     
  8. porg1969 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    #8
    Call or email the people........I was one of the people who stood in line on 5th ave., when i got my phone Apples addy and ph. # was in the contacts
     
  9. nickspohn macrumors 68040

    nickspohn

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    #9
    bingo.
     
  10. dacreativeguy macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    #10
    That is the reason. At the very least, you synced dummy info that the Apple Store loads onto each display computer in the store. Those would be the 555 numbers and .mac addresses. You could also have synced all the crap that customers type into those computers throughout the day.

    Funny you didn't include this important bit of info in the original message.
     
  11. i3igsmooth5769 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    i3igsmooth5769

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #11
    haha yea i know....the light bulb seemed to just light up after that first post
     
  12. Hummer macrumors 65816

    Hummer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Location:
    Queens, New York NY-5
    #12
    Last time I did that, I was greeted with a bunch of specialists running to me screaming "SIR SIR SIR you cannot dock your own devices into these Macs!"
    I did end up with over 200 free songs from the demo iTunes account, but none of the music was good.
     
  13. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #13
    I'm going to try that with my next iPhone...

    I could use about 200 new songs! :cool:
     
  14. i3igsmooth5769 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    i3igsmooth5769

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #14
    yea my computer's been acting up so i asked one of the girls in the store if i could set up a couple of iphone's in the store and she said that it was just fine...although the entire time i had other employees and a security guard kinda looking over my shoulder from time to time
     
  15. Eric Lewis macrumors 68020

    Eric Lewis

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Location:
    CANADA? eh?
    #15
    id did that


    loaded my iPod with all the apple applications


    ms office iwork ilife 08...final cut express


    JOKES
     

Share This Page