iPhone Prepaid

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by tomrinny, Sep 7, 2008.

  1. tomrinny macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    #1
    I used to have a prepaid iPhone 1st gen. I got rid of it when my family switched to a verizon family plan. I now want to go back to the iPhone. Its my understanding that the 3G iphone has no prepaid. So I want to buy a 1st gen iphone and activate it on prepaid like I used to have. My question is can I still sign up for the go phone plan i used to have through iTunes?
     
  2. Warbrain macrumors 603

    Warbrain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #2
    I'd assume you could because ATT isn't treating both phones as the same - if you try to activate a 2G iPhone it'll show the iPhone plans online.
     
  3. angemon89 macrumors 68000

    angemon89

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Location:
    The place where Apple designs stuff
    #3
    I wonder if the 999-99-9999 Social Security number trick still works? That's the way I signed up for prepaid with my first gen.
     
  4. tomrinny thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    #4
    Well I need to know for sure. And anyone know where I can find a new in the box 1st gen iphone for cheap?
     
  5. tomrinny thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    #5
    Or could I just get a used iphone 3g thats already activated and use it with go phone service with the data added on? I would just have to get a prepaid sim card correct?
     
  6. tomrinny thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
  7. Hls811 macrumors 6502a

    Hls811

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #7
    I dont know about the 3G's - I'm actually wondering the same thing; but as for the 2G (1st Gen) - yes, you can still use the PAYG /Pre-paid plans. Thats what I currently do. $20/month unlimited data & $5.00/200 texts.

    I got myself a pre-paid SIM, jailbroke/unlocked/activated, etc and its worked since.
     
  8. pxlogs macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #8
    It's still possible.

    I activated my 1st generation iPhone 2 weeks ago with a prepaid plan using iTunes. The old 999-9999-999 SSN trick doesn't work... I just made up a SSN, think I used 900-0000-000 something like that. The thing is, that you can still activate them with a prepaid plan. Mine is working perfectly. :)
     
  9. tomrinny thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    #9
    Good to know. I used one I found online that AT&T actually gives to people with no SSN. Anyway I am kind of gearing to the 3g. The area I live in just got 3g and gps is an added bonus.
     
  10. Inukami macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    #10
    Just canceled my contract, finishes on the 16th. I bought TurboSIM v2 already, don't know if i should go with ATT prepaid or T-mobile prepaid =x
     
  11. tomrinny thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    #11
    Keep in mind that T-Mobile has no 3G. ATT prepaid was good when I had it. It was better than I expected
     

Share This Page