Iphone problem

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by lilsimon04, Jan 9, 2009.

  1. lilsimon04 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    #1
    Hey everyone im new here and glad 2 be here. My problem is that i have an 1st generation 4gb iphone and when i put it in the cradle to charge then it will turn on to the apple logo and keep rebooting when it gets there, and every once in a while the battery screen will come on with a slight bit of red in the battery. When I take it out of the cradle then it will not turn on at all, or even when i connect it to the computer it will not turn on. While it is in the cradle connected to the wall charger, i can get to the screen that has the itunes logo and the chord so i can connect it to the computer, but i just cant get it to work when i plug it into the computer, any help , please i am desperate!!!!
     
  2. neesh0 macrumors 6502a

    neesh0

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
  3. lilsimon04 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    #3
    i cant becuase it wont connect to the computer, when i connect it to the computer then the iphone wont come on!
     
  4. lilsimon04 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
  5. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #5
    A restore from DFU mode?
     
  6. lilsimon04 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    #6
    i cant becuse when i plug it into the computer then it wont even come on
     
  7. lilsimon04 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    #7
    actually i got the computer to recognize it in DFU mode, its downloading something and says it will restore aftwards, hopefully this works, ill report back when its done, thanks so much!!
     
  8. lilsimon04 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
  9. lilsimon04 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
  10. gjw4u macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #10
    Have you checked the cable & iPhone connections for dirt, and tried cleaning them with a can of compressed air?
     
  11. lilsimon04 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    #11
    yea u have tried that and i still get the same errors
     
  12. shvartsies macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    #12
    hold down home button for five seconds
    without letting go, also hold down power button for 10 more seconds
    let go of power button and continue to hold home button for 30 seconds

    it is now in DFU mode, connect it to the computer.
    warning: will wipe everything, hope you have a good backup
     
  13. lilsimon04 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    #13
    i already have it in du mode, thats the only way the computer will recognize it, and after i try and restore is when i either get error 1601 or 1602
     
  14. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #14
    if you have those errors try putting the iphone into restore mode and then do a restore

     
  15. lilsimon04 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
  16. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #16
    Wirelessly posted (Jeff's iPhone: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_2 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5G77 Safari/525.20)

    I looked on the apple website and it said to uninstall then reinstall the latest version of itunes and it should fix it.
     
  17. lilsimon04 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    #17
    thanks but i tried that also and still having the same issues, im getting very very irritated with this haha
     
  18. lilsimon04 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    #18
    anyone else got an idea here, could it maybe be my battery?? i just ordered one on ebay, thinking maybe it could be the problem
     
  19. ppc750fx macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    #19
    You didn't really supply us with much info...

    What version of iTunes do you have?

    What type of computer do you have? (If it's a Mac, is it a Late 2008 MacBook?)

    What version of the firmware are you trying to restore?
     
  20. Tallest Skil macrumors P6

    Tallest Skil

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #20
    And probably more importantly than any of that, are you running 10.5.6?
     
  21. ppc750fx macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    #21
    Ah. Forgot that one. Yes, that's important too :D
     
  22. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #22
    I don't see how putting in a new battery is going to solve anything besides possibly voiding your warranty. Plus opening up the phone and dealing with soldering a new battery is a huge pain.
     
  23. macdim macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #23
    If you can, try to restore it in DFU mode on a different computer and possibly a Windows computer. Make sure you have the latest version of iTunes wherever you are installing it. Also, as someone said above, don't use a mac with 10.5.6 to do it. It just won't work (but probably wouldn't even be recognized).
     

Share This Page