iPhone question about non AT&T 3G

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by classie787, Sep 6, 2010.

1. classie787 macrumors member

Okay, so I'm a newbie here and am debated between a iPhone 4 and iPod Touch 4th gen. Be easy on me!

So IF I got the iPhone 4, would I be able to unlock it and use it with Verizon's service? Would I be able to use 3G on Verizon?

I originally was going to get the iPod Touch 4th, but then started thinking it would be nice to have everything in one unit. But I'm starting once again to believe this might not happen.

Still interested though...I do see a bunch of iPhone 3G's for low prices (iPhone 4's are often ridiculously high!).

Thanks all!

2. aristobrat macrumors G4

Verizon and Sprints current CDMA networks are incompatible with the iPhone (which uses GSM technology). If you unlock an iPhone, T-Mobile (the only other major US GSM carrier) is about the only place it'll work. Even then, T-Mos 3G network is setup on somewhat odd frequencies that the iPhone doesn't support, so it'd only work on their slower EDGE network.

3. classie787 thread starter macrumors member

Again, please excuse my ignorance here...

I am confused, then, why Apple iPhones are going for $700-$1100+ on ebay without a contract. Do these purchasers just want to use the phone capabilities of the iPhone on other carriers besides AT&T? Or are that many people using the iPhone on T-Mobile?

Seems to me you'd might as well be an AT&T user...

4. aristobrat macrumors G4

Some people can't be AT&T users for a variety for reasons, like credit scores requiring a substantial deposit (up to $750), past-due bills from previous AT&T accounts that have to be paid off, etc.