iPhone randomly dropping signal

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by upsguy27, May 24, 2009.

  1. upsguy27 macrumors 65816

    upsguy27

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    Arizona
    #1
    So, for the past week, my iPhone 3G has been randomly dropping its signal completely, as in the bars are gone and the 3G icon disappears. This makes it impossible to do any phone-related functions. It lasts for about a minute, then it reacquires the signal. I have no idea how often it happens, it just seems to happen about 5-6 times every hour. Like I said, this has been happening for the past week. I called AT&T and they said that service is fine out in my area, and there are no repairs going on or anything that would cause my phone to lose signal. What's going on? Is it my phone that's messing up?
     
  2. Aaleck macrumors 6502a

    Aaleck

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    #2
    I have the same problem.

    By reading your sig, looks like you're using 3.0? Most likely a big with 3.0
     
  3. iWork macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    #3
    Your signature indicates you are running OS 3.0 Beta. It has been reported that 3.0 Beta 5 has noticeably degraded cellular service. Search the forum and you will find corroborating reports.

    It seems as if the Beta 5 baseband was committed prematurely and is still under heavy development.
     
  4. alansaysstop macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Location:
    Roseville
    #4
    yeah its beta 5 for sure. my girlfriend is running 2.2.1 and never has this problem and since i've installed beta 5 its been happening about the same as yours. only happens when i go to unlock my phone to read a text, make a call, etc etc.
     
  5. upsguy27 thread starter macrumors 65816

    upsguy27

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    Arizona
    #5
    Alright, good to know it's the beta and not my phone. Thanks, guys.
     
  6. con500 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    #6
    While 2.2 is fine for some, you only have to look at the apple help forums shortly after 2.2 was released, the sheer magnitude of people with dropped calls and no service issues was hugely increased, seriously it was chaos and apple seemed to just remain shtoom on the issue. Lots of folk were reverting to the earlier F/W but again this was not without fault as there apparently were issues with basebands and the like
     
  7. andreab35 macrumors 6502a

    andreab35

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #7
    You're not alone OP. My iPhone does the same, and I'm on beta 5.
    I was stopped off in a bookstore the other day and I had a full 5 bars. I was quickly checking the weather and then 3G decided to go bye bye. About 30 seconds later the phone recovered and went back up to 5 bars. I didn't even move.

    I mean, overall my phone drops signal here and there, but I do agree with the others that beta 5 is the issue, because signal drops have not been this bad for me on other firmware versions.
     
  8. pugnut macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    #8
    It is happening with the 2.2.1 as well

    T is upgrading the switches to leverage the N-Set, these are not complete by any means and there are issues. Basically voice will go to edge and if there is a data connection it will bounce back to 3g passing the entire packet off. The issue is if you are in a area where they are still in process, of which there are many, or are in a car and cross over a non switched area you will have some issues.

    For those of you on 5.0 call T and re-sync your IMEI, but be warned if you did the MMS hack using a different phone you will lose your ability to MMS
     
  9. mavis macrumors 68040

    mavis

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #9
    You'd think that Apple would have figured out by now how to get the iPhone 3G's radio to function properly. Beta or not, I find it absolutely pathetic that the phone performs so poorly even now, coming up on the one year anniversary of its launch. :rolleyes:

    Sorry but this is FUD. It's happening here in Japan, too. My wife's phone (same carrier, smae 3G network) continues to work perfectly, but my iPhone since installing 3.0b5 absolutely SUCKS. ;)
     
  10. the-sandman macrumors regular

    the-sandman

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Location:
    Leicester, UK
    #10
    Count me in here in the UK. Since b5 i've seen the words 'Searching...' and 'No Service' more than having any bars!

    I do understand it's beta, so you don't expect everything to work, but it's puzzling that its been fine for Beta's 1 through 4, but what are you going to do, things could be worse :p

    Just fingers crossed b6 will fix it...
     
  11. deimos256 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    #11
    One would think that if your designing a cellular phone, one of your level one basic priorities would be to make sure the thing can sustain a reliable connection to the network that is at least ON PAR with lesser phones on the same network. In my history of owning phones and being on various networks i have never seen a phone that drops signal this much, signal indicator varies this much, and most importantly, takes so long to find the signal again. If you cant nail the antennae, you should probably just stick to the iDevice, in my opinion this makes apple look like fools.
     
  12. TuckBodi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    #12
    I have a 2G phone running firmware 2.2.1 and for about the past month my bars have dropped from 2 to 1 bar and some dropped calls and a lot of searching at my home location. I have also seen this behavior at my Mom's place about a half hour from me. I called AT$T and they couldn't help me and denied anything going on with their network. I requested they remove their commercial, more bars in more places.

    Sidenote: When the 3G was rolled out I went from 3 bars to 2 bars. I also called AT$T then as well and they denied anything going on with their network. About a month later a VP of theirs, speaking in Europe, admitted their network was overwhelmed when the 3G came out.

    Yup, AT$T sucks alright.
     

Share This Page