Iphone Remote app

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by Darkerangel, Feb 13, 2009.

  1. Darkerangel macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    #1
    Hi, I just downloaded the Remote app and the direction says to open itunes and select the remote icon in the device list.

    Yeah well I don't see the remote icon at all. The only thing I see is what's in my iphone and that's the music, ringtones, etc. And yes, using a macbook.

    Please help.
     
  2. DPA macrumors 65816

    DPA

    #2
    Make sure you have iTunes set to look for remote devices. Under iTunes>Preferences, click the Devices tab and make sure Look for iPhone and iPod Touch Remotes is checked. Now click OK and you should be up and running. If this doesn't help then just reply to this post.

    David
     
  3. Darkerangel thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    #3
    itunes is already set with that setting along with "Look for remote speakers connected with airtunes." Overall, still....nothing.
     
  4. Darkerangel thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
  5. Sirobin macrumors 6502

    Sirobin

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #5
    Are your iPhone and computer on the same network?
     
  6. DPA macrumors 65816

    DPA

    #6
    Are you within 10 feet and is there a Wi-Fi- network. I think there has to be a Wi-Fi network that both devices are connected to in order for the Remote to work.

    David
     
  7. Darkerangel thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    #7
    See the only thing with that issue would be if it's not syncing with my college's Wi-Fi? But both my computer and iphone has the Wi-Fi name so to me their on the same network.
     
  8. DPA macrumors 65816

    DPA

    #8
    So there is no device with the Remote logo under devices? Mine takes a few seconds to recognize that there is a remote. Make sure you are on the screen that has a 4 digit passcode to enter in iTunes. This is the screen you have to be at in order for iTunes to recognize there is a device with Remote opened on it.

    David
     
  9. Darkerangel thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    #9
    I am and the remote icon does not appear under "devices."
     
  10. bytethese macrumors 68030

    bytethese

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Location:
    Cranford, NJ
    #10
  11. AlecMyrddyn macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Location:
    Southern Maine
    #11
    The college wifi connection might have filtering in place that prevents iTunes from seeing the iPhone. It's even possible that while the Network Name is the same, you aren't connected to the same access point.

    Best of luck. Probably the quickest way to get this working would be to buy your own wifi router and set it up in your room, if the college allows you to do so. You could try asking the college ot allow it to work, but I doubt they'll modify their network for you.
     
  12. Darkerangel thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    #12
    Yes everything is up to date.


    Yeah, that's what I'm leaning on (issue wise). So whenever I go home, I'll try to see if it'll pick up on my wifi at home. And I'll let you all know what happens after that. Thanks you guys.
     
  13. iFerd macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    #13
    You have to be on the same local Wi-Fi network with both your computer and your iPhone. Your desktop and your iPhone likely are not on the same local network if your desktop is hooked into the campus network with a wire. The suggestion to get your own wireless router is a good one. Another option is to put a wireless card in you desktop computer (if there isn't one there already) and set up an ad hoc network just between your computer and your iPhone.
     
  14. tpkabz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    #14
    Usually with school, college, work, uni, generally any organizations Wi-Fi, you will be able to "connect" to it, but it will not work because of proxies, authentication or even Mac Filtering.

    It might be a good idea to talk to the Administrator of your organizations or campus's network, he/she will be able to configure both your MacBook and iPhone to work on the same network. Once this is done, then this should work. However, I would not really recommend using the Remote application on an organization network. Remote is designed to be used on Home Networks.
     
  15. UFMatt macrumors member

    UFMatt

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #15
    If you haven't figured it out yet, it's what the guys above were saying. I live on campus at college and it wouldn't show up on my itunes either; I switched my computer and phone over to the internet connection on a friend's wireless router and it magically appeared in itunes...
     
  16. Darkerangel thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    #16
    Thanks you guys, I'm back at home for Spring Break and it works with my router. :D
     

Share This Page