iPhone "Remote Wipe" feature. Is this Real??

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by DarthVidal, Nov 16, 2009.

  1. DarthVidal macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    #1
    After losing my iPhone 3G to thieves in S. America, my friend told me that it is now possible to remotely wipe all data from the phone via apple's web site using the IMEI number. I looked at the site and couldn't find anything that did that. Does anyone know anything about this?? Thanks
     
  2. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #2
    Yes but it requires a MobileMe Subscription. From apple.com:

    [​IMG]
     
  3. okatidubi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
    #3
    You need a MobileMe account.

    http://www.apple.com/mobileme/whats-new/

    However, the remote wipe only works when the sim card is in the phone. If it's taken out, I don't think it can be done. Someone correct me if I'm wrong though.
     
  4. scottness macrumors 65816

    scottness

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Location:
    Room 101
    #4
    Assuming you've enabled this feature on your iPhone, go here and click Remote Wipe.

    If you didn't enable it and don't have a MobileMe account, good luck.

    Different story if your IT department issued you the iPhone. If so, contact them.
     
  5. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #5
    You can also issue a remote wipe over Microsoft Exchange… but that requires Exchange.
     

Share This Page