IPhone Remote

Discussion in 'iOS Apps' started by farmerku, Jan 3, 2010.

  1. farmerku macrumors regular

    farmerku

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    #1
    I have yet to be able to access my Itunes library.. I keep getting this message...

    "Remote could not connect to your Library. If you have a firewall enabled on your router or computer, make sure the firewall is not blocking communication with Remote."


    I have turned the firewall off on my computer...

    Restarted the router and set it up to make sure this is no firewall..

    My roomate is able to use his Iphone remote with his computer on the very same wireless network????

    Does anyone have an idea where my problem is??


    Thanks very much for the help in advance .
     
  2. TomxHow macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #2
    I had a problem with this also. However, with the most recent updates on both iPhone OS and iTunes it has enabled it to work.
     
  3. farmerku thread starter macrumors regular

    farmerku

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    #3

    thanks for the reply... yeah I believe both Itunes and the Iphone are up to date.



    to update by situation... I used my iphone and via remote I was able to connect to my roomates library and he was not able to connect to mine.

    Of course this means there has to be a setting on my computer but I can't for my life figure out what it is.
     
  4. cal6n macrumors 68000

    cal6n

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Gloucester, UK
    #4
    Have you ticked the "Look for iPhone and iPod Touch remotes" check-box under the "devices" tab of your iTunes preferences?
     
  5. farmerku thread starter macrumors regular

    farmerku

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    #5
    Yeah. It shows up as a device... prompts me to enter the password from the application... i do this... and it says it cannot connect?

    I have my firewall turned off and all the proper boxes checked in itunes preferences.
     
  6. cal6n macrumors 68000

    cal6n

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Gloucester, UK
    #6
    You should be good to go then.

    The only other thing I can think of would be if 2 devices with identical names were registered as remotes. Have you tried telling iTunes to forget all remotes and started from scratch?

    Also, have you tried changing your iPhone's name?
     
  7. farmerku thread starter macrumors regular

    farmerku

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    #7

    Well considering my roomates Iphone receives the same message while trying to sync with my library I don't think the name is an issue. Thanks for your help though. I must have some freak issue that will prevent me from using this app. Pretty disappointed.
     
  8. cal6n macrumors 68000

    cal6n

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Gloucester, UK
    #8
    Good point. Have you tried deleting the App and re-downloading it?

    If I were you, and that didn't help, I'd be planning an Apple Store visit to see if a Genius could connect to any of their Macs.
     
  9. killerrobot macrumors 68020

    killerrobot

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2007
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #9
    Do you have home sharing turned on inside of itunes?
    Itunes Menu>Advanced>Home Sharing
     

Share This Page