iPhone Rss Reader! Ugh

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by blackosx, May 12, 2008.

  1. blackosx macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    #1
    Im having problems, anytime i make an rssreader in dashcode for the iphone it doesnt show anything accept the header. It view fine when i run it on dashcode, but soon as i upload it to my website and try to view it on my iphone, just the header shows up.

    Can anyone help me here onto why this is happening? i made this work before but am now having problems.

    thanx:confused:
     
  2. lee1210 macrumors 68040

    lee1210

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #2
    this may be some sort of cross-site script attack prevention that does not get raised when running from a local page but will when you run the JS on a remote server.

    This could be totally wrong, but it was the first thing that popped into my head.

    -Lee
     
  3. blackosx thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    #3
    yea i read something like that, so instead of putting someone elses feed on their i put my own for my own blog, and uploaded it to my .com directory...so now its sdiudf.com/mobile/

    but it still doesnt load up.
     
  4. italiano40 macrumors 65816

    italiano40

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    NY
    #4
    can you shows that source code maybe it is something you are doing in the code
     
  5. blackosx thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    #5
    it runs fine on my computer once i hit run and it opens up in the iphone interface. But once i upload it and run it on my iphone..thats when the problem occurs, where just the header loads and no feeds. Its this problem right here: http://blackice912.net/2008/03/07/iphone-dashcode-updates-first-impressions/ ..this person fixed it, but i dont even know how they fixed it, as i dont really understand the method he took onto fixing this problem. Can someone help me? my coding is right, just accessing on my iphone and the rss feed url could be the problem.
     
  6. italiano40 macrumors 65816

    italiano40

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    NY
    #6
    i just ran it on my ipod touch and it works fine so maybe it is your iphone
     
  7. lee1210 macrumors 68040

    lee1210

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #7
    That example works, as you stated. It would be more helpful to see your attempt that is not working. What's the address of the xml file for the feed, and what's the address of the reader? What does your attributes.js look like?

    -Lee
     
  8. blackosx thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    #8
    where do i find the .xml file for my feed? as i looked in all my blog files and could not find the xml file thanx
     
  9. lee1210 macrumors 68040

    lee1210

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #9
    Do you have the URL to pull up the feed in safari's built in RSS reader? Or perhaps an RSS button on your page that pulls the feed up?

    -Lee
     
  10. blackosx thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    #10
    i figured it out...i put feed://domain.com/blog/wp-rss.php as my feed url in dashcode and it worked.

    Thanx for everyone who helped.
     
  11. extremegreen macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    #11
    I have been working with the RSS Capability in Dashcode which works wonderfully with the iPhone Simulator, but when I upload it to my server, which is different than the RSS Feed server, it doesn't work due to the cross site scripting issue. It seems like you had the same problem and resolved it with some PHP code on your server.

    Can you show the RSS code you did in PHP to make it work?
     

Share This Page