iPhone SE iPhone SE: no SIM card, won't take calls anymore

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Christopher11, Apr 22, 2018.

  1. Christopher11 macrumors regular

    Christopher11

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    #1
    I'm posting for a friend. She has an iPhone SE with BOOST Mobile. She's been able to receive calls no problem, despite no sim card. She was in New Hampshire, and a friend suggested she clear files by holding down the home key and accessing old files (I don't understand this and have never done it), but since then she is unable to receive calls on her iPhone.

    in General> About> Network says 'Not Available'. Any help much appreciated. Thank you!
    --- Post Merged, Apr 22, 2018 ---
    note: She can receive texts via cellular, so is apparently still connected to some kind of network, even when no wifi connection. Thank you.
    --- Post Merged, Apr 22, 2018 ---
    Now it's working! I have no idea how, or how i fixed it. Thanks for all the great help here. Problem solved.
     
  2. akash.nu macrumors 604

    akash.nu

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    #2
    There’s no way to access “old” files like that. What your friend has probably performed is called a hard reset. She just need to restart the device and sign out of iCloud account and then sign back in.

    Ps. When you say she was able to receive phone calls without a SIM card in the device , I’m guessing it’s via iCloud while connected to a WiFi access point.
     
  3. Mrbobb macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    #3
    I dunno if I should laugh or cry from posts like this...

    What are we suppose to do with, car moves but it got no wheels!

    Not only that but there are multiple parties involved and should we rely on everybody conveying credible information? NOT.

    But am glad it "magically" fixed itself.
     
  4. 0007776 Suspended

    0007776

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #4
    I believe Boost is a CDMA network so while you wouldn’t get LTE it should still work without a SIM card. Probably the hard reset just messed up something with the activation that took awhile to sort itself out.
     
  5. akash.nu macrumors 604

    akash.nu

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    #5
    Ah. So everything is working now then?
     
  6. 0007776 Suspended

    0007776

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere
    #6
    I’m not the OP, but based on their post it looks that way.
     
  7. akash.nu macrumors 604

    akash.nu

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
    #7
    Ah apologies.
     

Share This Page