iPhone shows only 300 mb capacity, help needed please

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by dondjtonic, Nov 14, 2007.

  1. dondjtonic macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    #1
    My iphone only shows 300 mb capacity after a crash of my macbook, how can i fix this problem without restore & downgrade the firmware to 1.1.1.. help me please cheers,
     
  2. cwolves macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
  3. dondjtonic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    #3
    how can i do that? :p
     
  4. dondjtonic thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    #4
    I forgot to say that my iphone's firmware is now still 1.1.1 just that if i have to restore.. it will be updated to 1.1.2 and to be honest i dont even have to clue how to fix it, i assume that the phone will be locked again if i update the firmware.. just that is there any other way to fix the 300 mb problem without restoring it.. :)
     
  5. cuttingedge macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    #5
    problem syncing

    dondjtonic,

    I'm experiencing same dilemma with my 1.1.1 on my macbook. Iphone shows only 300 mb capacity..nothing to do with macbook at all, but with my iphone.Buying an unlocked version is already a big risk. I dont wanna take another risk by updating and locking it again. any success yet syncing?

    cuttingedge
     
  6. cbraun macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    #6
    I'm not sure if this is your problem, but I remember something similar when I was jailbreaking my 1.1.1 phone. one of the methods symlinked /media to / and for whatever reason itunes freaks out and only sees like 300 mb. If you can SSH into your phone what you need to do is undo this symlink, either mv oldmedia (location for media). I suppose just deleting the symlink MIGHT work, assuming itunes fixes it right. Not sure if that helps at all, the thread starter would have been experienced this sooner probably. The person posting at the end is almost certainly suffering from this, an incomplete jailbreak.
     
  7. hobo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    #7
    Yes, you need to fix the symlink. That's where every instance of this problem I've heard of has come from.

    Use the app "300MB Killer" from independence (Mac only) to remove it in about two seconds with one click.
     

Share This Page