Iphone sits on Apple Screen when resetting

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by mojoe24, Jan 23, 2010.

  1. mojoe24 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    #1
    Whenever I reset it just sits on the apple screen. If I plug it into a computer it loads up. I know I don't have a tethered bootrom though. If I turn it off and leave it for a while and then try starting it again it seems to work fine again or when I go through SBSettings to reset.
     
  2. pcs are junk macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    #2
    what do you mean by "resetting"? theres hard resets, soft resets, homescreen resets, network resets, setting resets, etc. please elaborate.
     
  3. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #3
    Not nearly enough info...

    iPhone type ? (2G, 3G or 3GS)
    Firmware version ? (3.1.x)
    Baseband ? (4.26.xx or 5.11.xx)
    Jailbroken ? JB by what tool ?
    Unlocked ? Unlocked by what tool ?
     
  4. mojoe24 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    #4
    It's an iPhone 3GS with 3.1.2. Unlocked it using blackrain. Didn't unlock it and I don't know the baseband. Also, I meant hard reseting. Holding home/sleep.
     
  5. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #5
    If you are sure your 3GS doesn't have the new bootrom, then I would guess it's a bad jailbreak.

    Restore to official Apple IPSW then re-JB.

    As an alternative to Blackra1n, Redsn0w 0.9 (beta) and Sn0wBreeze (can't believe I typed that) are also options.
     
  6. mojoe24 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    #6
    I'm positive. I made sure I didn't have a tethered jailbreak before I jailbroke the iphone. And I'd imagine that it wouldn't only happen when restarting. It seems to start fine when using SBSettings to restart. Only problem comes up when I need to hard reset.
     
  7. BittenApple macrumors 6502a

    BittenApple

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    #7
    So is it locking up when you press the hold/power button or when you do a hard restart of the phone itself?

    If you are then you probably have a tethered 3GS or some sort of weird jailbreak problem.
     
  8. troyhouse macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    #8
    only thing we need to know is bootrom or iboot version, if it is 359.3.2 then it is tethered jb... post the version.
     

Share This Page