iPhone Iphone stuck at activation (I hate ATT)

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Beaten by ATT, Nov 22, 2012.

  1. Beaten by ATT macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    #1
    Here's the background:

    I moved to the UK from the US, but because I had a locked ATT 3GS Iphone (2 months from contract end) I couldn't use my phone with a UK carrier. So, I jailbroke the phone with Redsnow on IOS 4.3.4 (if I'm remembering correctly) this was about 9 months ago. No location services, but I had a phone.

    Next, I read last week that ATT was unlocking out of contract phones--I call, submit the unlock request, it is approved, and I restore the phone to IOS 6 thinking it will clear the phone of the hack and connect with iTunes to get the ATT unlock.

    Now, I have an Iphone stuck at the activation screen that does not acknowledge the presence of any SIM card I put in it. At first I thought the ATT unlock hadn't gone through, but now I realize I restored a jailbroken phone improperly.

    What do I do to get back to my original store bought Iphone settings and get the ATT unlock?

    Help!
     
  2. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #2
    restoring to iOS6 does "unjailbreak" it.

    If it still asks for an unlock than the unlock didn't go through.

    try restoring it through itunes.

    If it still doesn't work contact AT&T

    btw you could have gotten the unlock without restoring and preserve your jailbreak.

    I presume you have SHSH/blobs for 4.3.5, than you can restore to that or if you have blobs for 5.1.1 or 5.01 restore to that and have a better experience.
     
  3. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #3
    If having an unlocked working phone is the most important thing, restore it to stock using iTunes, host file to Apple and enjoy your working iPhone.
     
  4. Beaten by ATT thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    #4
    Still stuck at activation

    The phone has been unlocked, according to a rep from Apple who spoke with his superiors about the status of the phone.

    If Apple confirms the phone is finally unlocked, why am I still stuck at the activation screen, with iTunes telling me that the phone doesn't have a sim card in it?

    Currently have a 12 month contract sim with O2 in the phone...

    Any ideas???:confused:
     
  5. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #5
    input IMEI and check if it is unlocked:
    http://www.imei.info

    also when itunes says it doesn't see a SIM might indicate the SIM is faulty or might me a hardware problem.

    you can also try to restore again
     
  6. Carlanga macrumors 604

    Carlanga

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #6
    Based on your story you update to the iPad BB since you had no location services? If so you need to reinstall w dfu mode w custom fw then downgrade the BB to normal and then restore officially w iTunes pointing at apple.
     
  7. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
  8. Beaten by ATT thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    #8
    So how do I do that?

    I tried retrieving my SHSH blobs with redsnow, but get an error. During the process the phone boots.

    I'll try a custom firmware IPSW with redsnow, on iOS 6 I'm guessing.
     
  9. Carlanga macrumors 604

    Carlanga

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    #9
    1) did you update to 6.15.00 BB or not before we continue? If yes then:
    2) you would need a custom w/ no BB, once it's working then you can downgrade the BB using redsn0w. http://www.redmondpie.com/how-to-do...05.13.04-baseband-for-unlock-and-working-gps/
    3) upgrade normally through iTunes to latest BB if you are unlocked officially.
    ** If you have an iPhone3GS and if digits 3-5 of its Serial Number are 134 or later (xx134…), then you should NOT try to install the 06.15 baseband on your 3GS! It will brick your radio, preventing both the downgrade from working and normal iPhone software from using it as a phone! Be warned!***
     
  10. braddick macrumors 68040

    braddick

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Location:
    Encinitas, CA
    #10
    I'm curious, based on what it is you have done to your iPhone and what it is you're doing now, why it is you hate AT&T?
     
  11. Beaten by ATT thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    #11
    I don't know if I was 6.15 BB--but I believe I was. I proceeded with redsnow to downgrade the BB to 5.16, and I have gotten the phone working... to a degree.

    Here's what I did:

    I followed the guidance above regarding a custom IPSW with no baseband, which was created using redsnow. The phone was restored using the redsnow PwnDFU function with itunes, and when the process was complete the phone was still in DFU mode, and detected by itunes.

    I kept going and restored to iOS6 through iTunes--the phone started up, there was no problem with activation.

    Then I tried to go back to iOS5 through iTunes, but got an Error 3194 before the restore was completed.

    Finally, I restored once more with itunes to iOS6, and got the "Your Phone is unlocked!" message, the phone works so far, and here are the stats from f0recast:

    Serial: 85027
    BB 5.16.07
    Bootloader 6.4_M3S2
    Jailbreakable? No
    Unlockable? Upgrade to Ipad Basebane

    So now I just need to know how to get back to iOS5. Should I bother? Should I just leave it at iOS6? I'd like to get default Google maps back...
     
  12. Beaten by ATT thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    #13
    My biggest question is: is my phone free of the previous jailbreak, fully restored/repaired and there is nothing augmented about it? :eek:
     

Share This Page