iphone stuck in recovery?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by acidraindrop, Apr 28, 2010.

  1. acidraindrop macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    #1
    I just attempted to jailbreak my iphone 3gs 3.1.2 I was using the guide thats on here at the top of the forum. I used the redsnow and followed the guide on this page http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=7425 so I got all the way to the last step and then my phone went to the screen with the itunes logo and the usb cable. The guide doesn't say what to do after the jailbreak is done. So now when i connect to iTunes its says the phone needs to be restored. Should I restore it? did i do something wrong? Please help.
     
  2. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #2
    Run Redsn0w again. You have a tethered jailbreak
     
  3. acidraindrop thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    #3
    Ok should i check the box that says "Just Boot Tethered right now" or just do everything the same way as the first time?
     
  4. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
  5. acidraindrop thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    #5
    NVM the last question. Its working now, so now i just open the cydia app?
     
  6. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
  7. acidraindrop thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    #7
    Thanks for the help guys. So I select the User(graphical only) option I assume right?
     
  8. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #8
    Yes, that should be plenty for you now.
     
  9. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #9
    I can see this Q & A going on and on and on :D
     
  10. acidraindrop thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    #10
    Lol sorry for all the questions, Cydia is a bit overwhelming though, a bunch of junk on there. Just one more question, is the iphone i have unlockable and if so how would I go about doing so.
     
  11. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #11
    You should try Google for some of these, or read some other threads here, all of this info is available if you read.

    If your baseband (Modem firmware in Settings/General/About) is 5.11.xx, use Blacksn0w to unlock. It's available in Cydia, but you have to add the repo.

    Use Google and it will tell you exactly how to get it done.
     
  12. acidraindrop thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    #12
    I searched for blacksnow on cydia and had no luck finding it. Google isn't really helping either. Is it possible to just use download blackrain on to the phone and use that to unlock it?
     
  13. luvu01 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    #13
    yes
     
  14. acidraindrop thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    #14
    Can anyone else confirm that? I'm a little worried because I've read that using two different jailbreak type programs can cause problems, seeing as I originally used redsnow to do the jailbreak.
     
  15. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #15
    Add this repo to your sources thru cydia: www.blackra1n.com
    Then from that source you can download blacksnow.
     
  16. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #16
    Blackra1n is a jailbreak, not an unlock.

    Wrong info
     
  17. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #17
    You can't of tried Google. There is a bucketload of info on Blacksn0w and how to use it.

    You like to be spoonfed. don't you !
     

Share This Page