Iphone stuck on erase all content and settings with empty progress bar

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by jab43, Sep 1, 2011.

  1. jab43 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    #1
    my phone is jailbroken on 4.3.3. my dock will charge but won't let me transfer data and iTunes won't see it. I found a thread to tell me to erase all content and settings to remove jailbreak and take into apple to get it replace (its still under warranty).
    After 4 hours the progress bar has not been filled at all. So i assume the process hasn't even started.
    Any ideas unjailbreak it another way or fix this problem?
     
  2. ECUpirate44 macrumors 603

    ECUpirate44

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Location:
    NC
    #2
    Force the phone into DFU mode, then restore through iTunes.
     
  3. blueroom macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
  4. jab43, Sep 1, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2011

    jab43 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    #4
    my dock connection is broken. iTunes will not see my phone in regular working mode. so i can't restore via iTunes

    ----------

    clean the hosts file on the iPhone?
    or iTunes host file?
    will this speed up the erase all content and setting process?
     
  5. ECUpirate44 macrumors 603

    ECUpirate44

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Location:
    NC
    #5
    Bring it to Apple, act like a dummy, and hopefully they will replace it.
     
  6. jab43 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    #6
    i can bring it back from the apple and the progress bar screen with a hard reset. i need to break it or something so apple won't know its jail broke. i the the erase all content and settings would do the trick.
     
  7. Gjwilly macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #7
    You could maybe put it into DFU mode.
    That won't erase it but Apple would have to use the dock to bring it out of DFU mode and when they can't maybe they'll replace it.
     
  8. jab43 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    #8
    Apple seeing cydia or tweaks is that the only way to tell if its jailbroken? and with my dock connection broken?

    ----------

    i will try this. thanks.
     
  9. jab43 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    #9
    I tried putting it into dfu mode. it didn't work. i just hard reset it and it came back.
     
  10. jab43 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    #10
    i decided to use sbsettings and hide cydia and then remove sbsettings. i think that'll do the trick so apple won't know its jailbroken.
     
  11. Annonymous macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    #11
    For future reference you could; Download openssh, ssh terminal, make a connection to your local machine(127.0.0.1). Then as root; cd into /var/lib/apt/lists Then rm -r any package, app, or repo... Even Cydia! BTW, you "might" need a few shell packages like.
     

Share This Page