iPhone + T-Mobile = Gravy???

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by BMWDriver, Jun 24, 2009.

  1. BMWDriver macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    #1
    ...catchy title. I just did a ton of research and have probably viewed about a books worth of information via this site, dev-team, google, etc. I just signed up on MacFo and wanted to get a confirmation from those that have experience with the iPhone | T-Mobile collaboration.

    This is the phone that I want or something similiar...

    http://cgi.ebay.com/Apple-iPhone-3G...=65:15|66:4|39:1|240:1318|301:0|293:1|294:200

    plus this...

    http://cgi.ebay.com/TMOBILE-ACTIVAT...6:4|39:1|72:1234|240:1318|301:0|293:1|294:200

    --

    Now once I buy the phone and the sim card and both are in my possession, I go to the dev-team website to get the info to jailbreak/unlock it since it has the upgraded 3.0 OS. Activate the T-Mobile sim card, choose the minutes/data/txt plan that best suits me and then I'm good to go, right? I know this question has been asked many times before, but I just want to make sure since I'm forking down $300+ on something I'm new at. Thanks guys for the help.
     
  2. shanghei macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #2
    Yeah pretty much, once you activate tmobile sim, you download redsn0w and install cydia then install ultrasn0w from within cydia and it should work.

    That sim card is prepaid, I am sure you could call tmobile and have them switch it over to regular plan. Were you going to stay with prepaid or get a real plan? Becasue if you were going to go with a real plan with tmobile you can take over someone elses plan whos contract is about to expire so you dont have to worry bout being under contract. The site is http://www.celltradeusa.com/ or http://www.cellswapper.com/
     
  3. benflick macrumors 68020

    benflick

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
  4. BMWDriver thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    #4
    Well, my plan was to sign up for T-Mobile's FlexPay plan at $39.99 (600mins) with their unlimited web/msg plan at $19.99 for a total of $60. Good deal on those 2 sites, that's the first time that I've ever heard of either one of those...
     
  5. StangGT909 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    #5
    When I signed up, I walked into the store with a dead T-mobile flip phone and activated Flex pay + T-zones. I went home and transferred the SIM and it worked no problem.


    If you went to sign up for new service today, would they look at you funny if you tried to activate the high end 19.95 / unlimited plan on a cheesy flip phone?

    Or does it not matter if you tell them straight up from the beginning you are using an iphone? I know their policy is any phone and they don't care but if they knew you were using an iphone is it possible they would try to force you into a more expensive data plan?
     
  6. Enigmafan420 macrumors 6502a

    Enigmafan420

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Puget Sound, U.S.A.
    #6
    They don't care-in fact they have some tech support people that will HELP with iPhone issues.

    They know people are using them on T-mo-not to mention that T-mo is the official partner in several European countries.
     
  7. BMWDriver thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    #7
    With the info that I've gathered over the past couple of days, because T-Mobile uses a combo band of 1700 & 2100 and AT&T uses a single one, is it even worth it to get the 3g over the 2g?
     
  8. Enigmafan420 macrumors 6502a

    Enigmafan420

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Puget Sound, U.S.A.
    #8
    It depends-you won't get the 3G speeds on T-mo. But the 3G does have GPS-don't think the 2G does, and a few other features which don't seem to be coming to mind right now.

    The girl that bought my 2G now wants the 3G and in the interest of full disclosure, I am letting her know that she won't get 3G speeds because she too is on T-Mo.
     
  9. rjohnstone macrumors 68030

    rjohnstone

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Location:
    PHX, AZ.
    #9
    AT&T actually uses two bands. 850 and 1900 for 3G service.
    The 850 frequency is better as it can penetrate buildings easier than the higher bands can.
     

Share This Page