Iphone to Itouch

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by CW28, Jan 26, 2010.

1. CW28 macrumors newbie

So I am brand new to the Iphone/Ipod world. I have a friend who upgraded to the 3g phone a few months ago. He recently gave me his original iphone as a thank you for some things I helped him with. What should I do to get the phone to work as an ITouch? It wants me to insert a sim or connect to itunes. What are the steps to get this to work, any help is greatly appreciated, I am totally lost.

2. Gav2k macrumors G3

Gav2k

If your in the states purchase an AT&T payg simcard if your in the uk o2 or orange payg simcard. Insert and register the phone along with an iTunes account the. Start purchasing or copying music.

3. -aggie- macrumors P6

-aggie-

You can either get a 3G simcard that you have or someone else has to activate it, or you can hacktivate it.

4. CW28 thread starter macrumors newbie

so what you are saying is, get the sim out of his 3g phone and borrow it for a few minutes? or this is something I will have to have permanently?

5. -aggie- macrumors P6

-aggie-

Yes, you're just borrowing it to activate. However, any time you update the OS, you'll need the simcard again.

6. CW28 thread starter macrumors newbie

so I just put his sim in and thats it? Is there a preferred method to jailbreak? is it needed?

7. -aggie- macrumors P6

-aggie-

If you're going to go the sim route, you don't need to jailbreak. Once you take out the sim, you'll have your Touch.

8. CW28 thread starter macrumors newbie

9. -aggie- macrumors P6

-aggie-

Depends on what you want. If you don't care about finding a sim card every 6 months or so when there's an update (or if you don't care about the updates), then go the sim card route. If you want to be truly free from sim cards, then jailbreak and hacktivate.

10. CW28 thread starter macrumors newbie

Which hacks do you recommend and where can they be found?

11. -aggie- macrumors P6

-aggie-