iPhone to USB Hub - Does this work?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by nathanlukewong, Oct 13, 2009.

  1. nathanlukewong macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    #1
    Hi all,
    I was just wondering if someone could please tell me if it is possible to plug an iPhone into a USB hub. I can not seem to do it. My iPhone does not even charge off the hub. The hub is powered and I currently have a hard drive plugged into it. Even when i discounted to the drive, nothing happens.
    Any idea,
    cheers
     
  2. Blueline29 macrumors 68020

    Blueline29

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Location:
    Windermere, FL
    #2
    I've had it work sporadically with my hub, but it certainly hasn't been dependable. I ended up switching something else out to the hub and connecting my iPhone directly to a USB port instead. Wasn't worth the headache to mess with it.
     
  3. Salukipilot4590 macrumors 6502

    Salukipilot4590

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #3
    Mine's been plugged into my hub since day one.

    It's a 7 port with a power plug so that might be something. Also it's USB 2.0.
     
  4. lollicup macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    #4
    really depends of a few things

    a) is it usb 2.0
    b) is it really powered ( does it have an ac adapter ? )
     
  5. iFerd macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    #5
    Works fine for me on a four port powered USB 2.0 hub. In fact, I've never synced it any other way.
     
  6. supersize macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    #6
    I have my Iphone and Ipod classic plugged into a D-Link powered 7 port usb hub and they both charged fine until about about a week ago when they both stopped charging and they will often stop half way through a sync. I'm pretty sure it all started when I did the latest Iphone update but I cannot be sure. Is anyone else having a simular problem?
     
  7. OriginalFormula macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    #7
    Does your iPhone charge properly using the same wire with your computer? Is the wire firmly plugged in?
     
  8. Kadman macrumors 65816

    Kadman

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    #8
    I have mine connected through about 50+ feet of USB repeater cable and then plugged into a USB hub at the end of that chain, so yeah, no issues. (synching with a multipurpose PC in the basement, but sync from a cable on the first floor at the other side of the house).
     
  9. lemonademaker macrumors 6502a

    lemonademaker

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Location:
    In a Van Down By The River! Metro Detroit!
    #9
    what is "USB repeater cable".... i know what a repeater for "antennas" are... is the 50' of cable powered.... do you have a link for what kind of setup & who sells it?

    thanks...

    EDIT: is this what your talking about: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0009JCVJU
     
  10. MartyS macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    #10
    You might need to use a powered hub to make it work. Mine is connected to a powered hub and it works fine.
     
  11. Kadman macrumors 65816

    Kadman

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    #11
    Yes, those types of cables but I get them either from Newegg or from Monoprice (only cost about $10 or $11 each).
     
  12. r6girl Administrator/Editor

    r6girl

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #12
    I have an iPhone dock connected to a (non-powered) USB hub which is connected to my Apple cinema display (which has self-powered USB ports), which is then connected to my MacBook Air and it works fine. However, I've found that a non-powered portable drive won't work when plugged in at the same time, but other items work just fine (e.g., a multi-format car reader).
     
  13. nathanlukewong thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    #13
    sorry for the lateness

    hi all
    sorry for the lateness of my replies
    i have been flat out
    my iphone works fine via usb direct to my macbook pro
    does not work through my usb hub which is powered
    mmm strange oh wellz
     

Share This Page