iPhone iPhone unlock in UK for orange

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by MattJ11, Apr 19, 2008.

  1. MattJ11 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Location:
    Bristol, England
    #1
    So, In the UK they have droped the 8GB iPhone by £100 in Carphone Warehouse and my dad is willing to buy me one, as long as i don't have to use O2. Simply because i can't afford the contract.

    So how do i go about using it on my Orange pas as you go sim card?

    Will i still be able to use WiFi if i unlock it?

    Thanks for the help.
     
  2. phannon666 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Location:
    Bucks, UK
    #2
    You'll be fine, WiFi is not dependent on your carrier or any subscriptions, its a free standard. Your options for unlocking include ZiPhone, or Pwnage, the latter being from the official iPhone dev team, but both work very well. If you plan to use the internet or any data services outside of a wifi area, make sure you get a data bolt on for you Orange account or you won't have any credit for very long, enjoy!
     
  3. AFKMatrix macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    #3
    Another program for unlocking is ILiberty+ and it works both on macs and windows.
     
  4. dickovski macrumors regular

    dickovski

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    Norwich, UK
    #4
    Posting this on my payg orange iPhone so yes it is possible. I used ziphone and it took about 1 minute to do but this was before pwnage was out which I would probably use now.

    I buy the 16mb data extra which costs £4 and usually lasts me a month but only for checking email really. Quite lucky in Norwich though as we've got citywide free wifi which means I don't really use my edge/GPRS that much.
     
  5. PowerFullMac macrumors 601

    PowerFullMac

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    #5
    Use Pwnage, this unlocks and jailbreaks the iPhone in one, plus it means when you do this the phone is still unlocked when you update the firmware.

    Although, you should either turn EDGE off or get a data package thing with your network or using the net when not connected to WiFi is going to cost a lot of money.
     
  6. MattJ11 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Location:
    Bristol, England
    #6
    Thanks for all the help guys! :)

    I was planing to use ZiPhone to unlock and activate. I have no interest in jail-breaking the phone.

    So if i use ZiPhone will it be updated to 1.1.4 (is that the correct latest firmware?).

    I understand that i wont be able to restore the phone to its original condition if i need to take it back. Is this true? I've never had a problem with a mobile before so fingers crossed.

    I have WiFi at home and alot of my friends houses so i will never use EDGE or anything like that so it will be turned off.

    Anything else i should no about?

    Thanks :)
     
  7. FuriousD macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    Ziphone changes something permenantly which is what you cant restore, it changes from 4.6 to 3.9 and cant go back from what i have read over the past two days. Everything i have read says not to use ziphone and that pwnage or liberty+ are better, i am trying to decide between the two.


    D
     
  8. MattJ11 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Location:
    Bristol, England
    #8
    The only thing i dont like about pwnage is that it changes the apple logo when you start the phone up. And you have to jailbreak when using that program dont you?

    Thanks
     
  9. FuriousD macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    From what i have read, it only changes the logo if you want it to. I might be wrong though, very limited knowledge of reading different forums over the past two days. Off to buy mine in a minute :D

    D
     
  10. d900man macrumors regular

    d900man

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Location:
    Telford, Uk
    #10
    has anybody got edge working with orange yet. I think it works but I don't the e in the blue box.

    I know my settings are correct
     
  11. MattJ11 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Location:
    Bristol, England
    #11
    Let me know how it all goes man.

    :)

    Good luck
     
  12. dickovski macrumors regular

    dickovski

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Location:
    Norwich, UK
    #12
    Yep I get Edge on Orange PAYG
     
  13. Spud1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    #13
    Matt - It will change the logos in stage 1 of the unlock, but it is not permanent, and when you build your custom IPSW for the second part of pwnage you can untick the custom logo section, which will let you keep the standard apple logos :) You also don't have to jailbreak with it - but there is no disadvantage to jailbreaking, it can't really cause you any problems.

    d900man - I have my phone unlocked and on orange contract :) You might not see the E i the box because EDGE coverage in the UK is pretty poor - to put it in perspective 3G is *much* more widespread over here than EDGE. Generally if there is a 3G signal in the area (most cities) there won't be edge, and vice-versa..so you will get a better chance of having EDGE out in the country or on motorways.
     
  14. jamesforsith macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    #14

Share This Page