iPhone - Unlocked on AT&T? Can it be done?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Deucerok, Dec 11, 2008.

  1. Deucerok macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    #1
    Hey Guys,

    I recently received a 1st Gen iPhone from a friend after he upgraded. Unfortunately, I already have AT&T. Instead of activating or upgrading my account, I unlocked the phone.

    To be honest, I just want my MP3 player and phone to be all in one. I can use Wi-Fi for the net.

    I got one phone call to work, but after that one call all following call failed. So, my question is, "Has anyone else tried this and been successful?"

    My general guess is that it can be done and there might be something wrong with this phone's hardware, but everything else works fine. I even get "bars" to show the coverage.

    -Deuce.Rok
     
  2. Deucerok thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    #2
    Works

    Ok, so I checked it out and the phone does work. The only problem is that I just have crap reception. So, for anyone else looking to use the phone, mp3 and wi-fi capabilities. You're covered.

    -Deuce.Rok
     
  3. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #3
    Why did you unlock it if you are using it on AT&T? That sounds redundant. :confused:
     
  4. question fear macrumors 68020

    question fear

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Location:
    The "Garden" state
    #4
    Probably in an attempt to use the original AT&T plans, or the "blue" service. Prior to Cingular purchasing AT&T, AT&T had very cost effective plans for certain services. After the merger, Cingular people were "orange" and AT&T people were "blue". It gets confusing when Cingular became AT&T, and that's when if you were an old "AT&T blue" customer you'd want to keep your grandfathered service plan.
     
  5. Warbrain macrumors 603

    Warbrain

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #5
    If we didn't want to get the iPhone plan but use the at&t service. Mine is set up that way so I can use my MEdianet plan.
     

Share This Page