iPhone Upgrade/Activation Question

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by d88co88, Jul 6, 2010.

  1. d88co88 macrumors 6502

    d88co88

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    MN
    #1
    Hi, I have an iPhone 3GS right now and I have an upgrade available. Is there any way to buy another iPhone 3GS as the upgrade and just not have it activated or put the active SIM in my iPhone? Thanks!!
     
  2. JediZenMaster macrumors 68000

    JediZenMaster

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Location:
    Portland,Oregon
    #2
    Are you asking if you can upgrade your iPhone and get it and not change your sim? Yes you can. But you would have to accept the terms of the 2 year contract renewal because if not you will end up getting charged the full price for the iPhone.
     
  3. aneftp macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    #3
    Yes. Just use your upgrade. Put ur old active sim and and iTunes will activate any activate SIM card. You don't even have to use your own SIM. You can use your friends SIM if ulu wanted to. Just eject the sim that's already in that new iPhone. You won't need it. Keep it aroumd as a spare unactivated SIM.
     
  4. d88co88 thread starter macrumors 6502

    d88co88

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    MN
    #4
    No, I would like to get the upgrade and not have it be used as a phone. I want to use my iPhone and give the other to someone in my family. I'm asking if I can put the active sim that comes with the new one in my old one and use the new one as basically a functional ipod touch.
     
  5. d88co88 thread starter macrumors 6502

    d88co88

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    MN
    #5
    Sorry aneftp, you beat me to a reply to the first response. You answered my question, thanks!!
     
  6. djgulia macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    #6
    why don't you just buy an ipod touch then? Not worth signing a 2 year contract.
     
  7. d88co88 thread starter macrumors 6502

    d88co88

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    MN
    #7
    It's $100 cheaper, faster, and I'm due for an upgrade I won't use. But just to make sure, if I get a new one, I just put the new one's sim into mine after I plug it into iTunes and it will work just fine?
     
  8. byulasfjazz macrumors regular

    byulasfjazz

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    #8
    You Actually cant ...


    The iphone 4 sim Is a MICRO SIM (smaller) than the 3GS sim.

    sorry just saw the word upgrade and assumed iphone 4.... re-read and saw 3GS
     
  9. boshii macrumors 68040

    boshii

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #9
    yep
     
  10. boshii macrumors 68040

    boshii

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #10
    he's buying a 3GS
     
  11. d88co88 thread starter macrumors 6502

    d88co88

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    MN
    #11
    Ok, and so the other sim would be deactivated and useless, right?
     
  12. boshii macrumors 68040

    boshii

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #12
    correct about being deactivated. i think it can be reused though.
     
  13. d88co88 thread starter macrumors 6502

    d88co88

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    MN
    #13
    Ok, one more question, and thanks for all the help! Can I reactivate the new one on another account?
     
  14. boshii macrumors 68040

    boshii

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #14
    you wouldn't reactivate, you would take the sim from the phone on the other person's account and put it in.
     
  15. d88co88 thread starter macrumors 6502

    d88co88

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Location:
    MN
    #15
    Ok, thanks for you're help, I'm planning on getting the 3GS tomorrow. :)
     

Share This Page