iPhone users in Canada on Rogers, simcard question

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by taiji80, Feb 21, 2008.

  1. taiji80 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto, ON. Canada
    #1
    I read on a different forum that all iphone users on Rogers should be using
    a 4000 series simcard..
    Now im using a 3040 simcard with Rogers and iam experiencing some minor
    problems. Specifically with reception and my voicemail indicator..

    Would a new simcard solve these problems??

    sam
     
  2. Optimus Rhyme macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Location:
    London, UK
    #2
    I'm not sure what version my simcard is, but I've had my card for 2 and a half years and I don't have a problem at all. No reception issues and my voicemail indicator works just fine.
     
  3. Hawkeye411 macrumors 68000

    Hawkeye411

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Location:
    Canada EH!!!
    #3
    :confused: Well that's not very helpful!!

    Anybody have an answer?

    Cheers. :D
     
  4. M!K macrumors regular

    M!K

    Joined:
    May 12, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    URGENT!!
    so you have an iPhone in Canada... i really need your help!
    I bought an iPhone and i want to activate it so i unlocked and jailbroke it. And yesterday i bought a SimCard from Rogers. My iPhone is at 1.1.3. I used iJailbreak for the unlock/jailbreak. Can i go to a Rogers store and get it activated right now or is there any more steps i need to do before it can work??
     
  5. EvryDayImShufln macrumors 65816

    EvryDayImShufln

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    #5
    The best thing to do is this (if you want a contract): just get one of their free phones, go home, and pop the sim card in your iphone. Then sell the other one that you just got.

    I think its preferable to not activate through rogers to the iphone directly, I heard they dont want to do it, but its worth a try anyway. If they refuse, you can just go to another rogers store, or borrow a friends rogers phone, activate it, then take the sim card and pop it into your iphone.
     
  6. imapfsr macrumors regular

    imapfsr

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Location:
    Victoria, B.C.
    #6
    Hey All,
    My workmate and myself both use the iphone and we both have the 3040 simcard. Look at the numbers on the card the third row of numbers will say 3040 or 4000. Anyways, mine has the indicator working and his doesnt so that shoots that theory in the foot.
     

Share This Page