iPhone Virus from visiting www.geeksquad.co.uk

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by fr00b, Aug 7, 2009.

  1. fr00b macrumors regular

    Mar 31, 2009
    Now I'm not entirely sure about this, I haven't done it myself, but I just got a SMS message from a 81444 number, stating go to geeksquad.co.uk (presumably from the Safari on iPhone) for more details on a iPhone hack, and to download latest firmware to prevent it.

    At first, I thought, yeh, probably the SMS patch recently released, so instead of visiting it on Safari on my phone, I just visited it on my Mac. When the page loaded up, it was just a load of text on the page. Suspicious at this point. Tried accessing it from XP, and it prompted to download a wml file. I just ignored it.

    Did a quick Google, and found the following articles.



    Anybody else received a similar text message?
  2. -aggie- macrumors P6


    Jun 19, 2009
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    Haven't received that, but that's not the purported SMS hack. It looks like it's probably just a spammer.
  3. fr00b thread starter macrumors regular

    Mar 31, 2009
    Yeh I agree. First thing time I've ever heard of a virus infecting a iPhone anyway. I was thinking maybe geeksquad.co.uk getting hacked, and sending out these spam msgs.
  4. Legolai macrumors member

    Apr 3, 2009
    yeah i got that this evening, i didnt click on it as i updated to 3.0.1 yesterday, although i assumed that the geeksquad it was referring to was the Carphone Warehouse insurance/tech support company.

    EDIT: - By the looks of it, it is, that was on a flash on the front page of their website...

  5. dapperdan75 macrumors newbie

    Aug 7, 2009

    Since 10.30pm tonight I've received 3 texts from geeksquad (the 3rd at 12.20am!!!).

    I phoned them up and they are aware of a problem with their system sending out SMS alerts and are working to fix this problem.

    It seems that the messages themselves are nothing sinister, they are merely alerting people to the fact that there is an iphone update available from Apple.

    It is the fact that these messages are being sent at an unreasonable hour that is a problem, as far as I'm concerned.

    Hope this helps.

  6. fr00b thread starter macrumors regular

    Mar 31, 2009
    Ah right. Thanks for letting us know. I thought it was abit suspicious, as I've never had any business or anything with Geeksquad, so immediately thought it was some spam or malicious code going around.

Share This Page