iPhone + W10 users anyone?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by AirdanMR, Feb 28, 2016.

  1. AirdanMR macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    #1
    Title says it all. If anyone here want to share his experience I will appreciate it.

    By the way, I'm currently on W10 (desktop-laptop) + W10 Mobile and I love it. MS has done a really good ecosystem. But I'm really tired of the "buy a bigger phone if you want a high-end phone" bs. I just want 4 or 4,5 max, with nice performance and camera and iPhone SE seems a nice candidate for that.

    Thanks in advice.
     
  2. throAU macrumors 601

    throAU

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    #2
    I'm a win10 user (surface Pro 4). The app store is garbage, i have yet to find a single application in the Windows 10 store that i actually want. Even for free.
     
  3. AirdanMR thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    #3
    That's not what I was asking, buy still... thanks for coment.

    APP lack in W10 is annoying!! (not really) you don't actually need any APPs for doing anything when you have a fully usable computer and fully usable web browser. Also I find MS Mail, Photos, Groove Music, Movies and TV far better designed and usable than OS X equivalents Mail, Photos, and iTunes... but thanks again.
     
  4. throAU macrumors 601

    throAU

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    #4
    My comment was in reference to the software ecosystem for Win10. It's basically non-existent for touch based applications you'd actually want to use.

    Sure, you can run regular windows applications, but i can do that with Windows XP, 7, or 8.x....
     
  5. noobinator macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #5
    I have a Lumia 640 on win 10 that I got for $30 that I use every now and then. It's an amazing phone for its price point and Windows 10 is pretty nice.
     
  6. firedept macrumors 603

    firedept

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere!
    #6
    I think the 5se will be a great match for you. I am considering it as a second phone to my 6. And then the 7 Plus when it comes out. I use W10 Pro on my iMac through Parallels and have no issue with using it. Some apps are better in W10 than on the OS X side of things and vice versa. I don't think you would have any issues with the 5se.
     
  7. AirdanMR thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    #7
    You can't judge MS ecosistem with only one W10 device, just like I can't judge Apple ecosystem only for it's OS X desktop App Store. Enough trolling - free hating and worse offtopic please.

    ...

    640 is a very nice low-mid end smartphone! But it's still bigger and has less RAM and poor camera than my Lumia 1020. The only real option I see to upgrade and keep using W10 Phone it's the new Xiaomi MI 5 with the W10 ROM, but it's still a bit big for my taste, and it's going to cost about the same as the iPhone SE

    ...

    Thanks! What I'm really worried here is about syncing info, for example contacts if I made a new one on the iPhone it wont be on my W10 account, same if I take a picture it won't be on my PC, or notes, maybe mails won't comunicate well between W10 and iOS, I don't know if it would be worth it without a macbook.
     
  8. firedept macrumors 603

    firedept

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere!
    #8
    As long as you use iTunes it shouldn't be an issue. That an the iCloud. Either work well on the backups. Ideally the MacBook would be better because of the sync between IOS & OS X. But your PC will do the job just fine.
     
  9. AirdanMR thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    #9
    Thank you! that was really helpfull, didn't know that iCloud can sync all that things. If all the spec rumors are true and it finally is 2GB RAM it will be my next phone over the Xiaomi.
     
  10. throAU, Mar 1, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2016

    throAU macrumors 601

    throAU

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    #10
    Well actually you can, because Windows 10 apps are "universal apps" for any Win10 device; thus, the same App store is used by all Windows 10 devices. There is no seperate app store as there is with iOS and OS X - they're the same apps.

    There's very little of worth in the Windows app store - why do you think Microsoft has spent big money on a porting platform for iOS applications to include with Visual studio? Because no one cares about developing for Metro. They missed the boat and are rushing to play catch up.


    edit:
    I'm willing to bet I spend more time dealing with Windows devices than 99.9% of this forum, it's my day job, and I'm half-way through developing our Windows 10 SOE for the company I work at.
     
  11. IowaLynn macrumors 6502a

    IowaLynn

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2015
    #11
    10 years using Windows, multiple PCs, Surface, but 8/8.1 and finally 10 and its Store, interface, and hidden updates, did me in, went and replaced my 10 yr old Mac Pro and other devices for 6S+, Mini 4, and rMB
     
  12. AirdanMR thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    #12
    Sadly the universal APP is still a myth. W10 is full of W8.1 APPs so no... you can't judge, because you are missing a lot of APPs that are only available for the Mobile version. Also a ecosystem is based in more things than the amount of APPs you have in the store, there is cloud, data syncronization, comunication between desktop and mobile phone, continuum (now tell me that this isn't usefull), and again while people is obsesed with the amount... I'm more concerned about the quality of the APPs you use on normal day: notes, music, camera (lumia camera), photos, file manager (I'm looking at you iOS), etc... vs iOS Photos, iTunes and company...

    That said I wish Apple one day could do the same with OS X and iOS.

    @IowaLynn I think I will end doing the same, but bootcamping W10 on the rMBP, there software here I really need and it's not in OS X.
     

Share This Page