iPhone Warranty Repair with Beta

Discussion in 'iOS 7' started by janitorC7, Jul 1, 2013.

1. janitorC7 macrumors 6502a

janitorC7

Okay, so i have had a malfunctioning power button for a few months now and have not had time to take it in.

I'm a valid developer (nothing commercial but things in house for a firm) so thats not the issue. However, I have head that Apple wont do repairs on phones with beta software even if its a clear hardware issue. Does anybody have experience with this before I run to a store? I cant find anything about it in developer agreements or anything like that.

Thanks,

2. madsci954 macrumors 68030

iOS 7 isn't officially supported yet so they may turn you away, whether you are a paid registered dev or not. It would be best to downgrade to iOS 6 just to be safe.

3. saving107 macrumors 603

saving107

Front page story

Apple Retail Closely Monitoring Employee Usage of iOS 7, Forbids In-Store Demos for Customers
    http://www.macrumors.com/2013/07/01...f-ios-7-forbids-in-store-demos-for-customers/

The Genius will more likely blame the malfunctioning power button on beta software, just go back to iOS 6 and you won't have any problems at Apple.

4. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

BasicGreatGuy

I agree with mad. Downgrade to iOS 6, before taking it to Genius. That way you won't have to worry about wasting your time over iOS 7 being installed.

5. aimee.elizabeth macrumors 6502

I agree with everyone else - even though it's more likely a hardware issue, just make it easier for the genius and downgrade first. I think that their diagnostics software in the stores doesn't yet work with ios 7, so that's why they don't want to cater to ios 7. If/when you get your phone replaced you can just get the beta again.

6. janitorC7 thread starter macrumors 6502a

janitorC7