iPhone with different carrier question?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by greatestash, Sep 16, 2008.

  1. greatestash macrumors member

    greatestash

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    #1
    Hi,

    I am going out of US next month for some time and i have iPhone 3G. I was thinking if its possible that i put sim from another carrier (official carrier in that country for iPhone) and i have to just reactivate that sim? is it possible or not?

    Thanks in advance :)
     
  2. CocoaPuffs macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    #2
    Nope, doesn't work. Phone is "locked".
     
  3. greatestash thread starter macrumors member

    greatestash

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2007
    #3
    that means firmware is different for other countries or its some type of hardware locks it. if firmware is same everywhere then it should have code somewhere in it which detects the official sim n activates it. just my thought; may be i am wrong.
     
  4. CocoaPuffs macrumors 68010

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    #4
    Try "Google", it explains network lock.
     
  5. skubish macrumors 68030

    skubish

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    Ann Arbor, Michigan
    #5
    You have to unlock the iPhone which I am not entirely sure is possible on 2.x
     
  6. acvball92 macrumors regular

    acvball92

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Location:
    Fairfield County, CT
    #6
    No Software Unlock

    You can try TurboSim.
    It's a sim based unlock, there is no software unlock for the iPhone 3G yet.
    Just google: sim based unlocks, you'll find options.:D
     

Share This Page