iPhone with iLiberty

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by sk8mash, Apr 17, 2008.

  1. sk8mash macrumors 6502a

    sk8mash

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #1
    Im currently trying to unlock, activate, and jailbreak my new iPhone with iLiberty.

    Its been stuck o the jailbreak stage now (first stage) for about 10 minuites. Am i doing something wrong, specifically concenrning the bootloader? there was a box that i didnt tick called "unlock with 3.9FB" should i have ticked that, and if so, how do i stop the process to start again without breaking the iPhone?

    Thanks so much.
     
  2. sk8mash thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sk8mash

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #2
    Ok, it is still on the jailbreak stage but the text has changed to "executing jailbreak". it has been like this for 20 minuites.

    Please tell me what i have done wrong!
     
  3. mchank macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    #3
    I had this exact same problem; put the program on your desktop and it should work. iLiberty is based off of iPlus which requires it to be on the desktop. You'll probably have to do a restore of the iPhone first and then redo the process with iLiberty on your desktop.
     
  4. sk8mash thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sk8mash

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #4
    Ok this is wierd...i had the iphone in all plugged up, then it must have turned itself off...i got bored so held down the power button and the screen came to life with scrolling code, which is now repeating saying:

    "BSD root : md0, major 2, minor 0"

    This good?!
     
  5. sk8mash thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sk8mash

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #5
    I dont think its good...will unplugging it then trying to re unlock etc. it fix the problem????

    And should i have clicked unlock with 3.9FB?
     
  6. MacChinoNyc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    #6
    I believe so, especially if you were at 4.6 or something before this. I hope you didnt mess your phone up, good luck. :eek:
     
  7. sk8mash thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sk8mash

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #7
    Alright, well i put the iphone into rcovery mode, plugged it into itunes and it is now downloading 1.1.4 and is gonna take 3 HOURS TO DOWNLOAD! stupid apple...anyways im hoping that will get it back to how it was. Then i will try iliberty again, but with ticking the 3.9FB option...this sound like the right thing to do?
     
  8. MacChinoNyc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    #8
    3 hours? Yes, I would click that. I actually had all the options clicked. Not sure what your mac iliberty screen looks like.
     
  9. sk8mash thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sk8mash

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #9
    Yeah, its been going for a good hour, and its a 34mb out of 160. I have a good connection, so apple servers must be slow...anyone know of a good mirror for 1.1.4?
     
  10. sk8mash thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sk8mash

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #10
    Alright, 5 minuites untill 1.1.4 has fifnished downloading. Now could someone please confirm for me that i need to select "unlock with 3.9FB" for this to work properly? Last time it got stuck on the jailbreaking bit!

    thanks again
     
  11. sk8mash thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sk8mash

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #11
    Just incase anyone is in the same situation as me, i would just like to say that after restoring the iphone with itunes, i then used iLiberty to successfully jailbreak unlock and activate my iphone.

    The mistake i made was not using the 3.9FB boot loader option.

    So if anyone wants to use iLiberty, make sure you tick that box!
     
  12. MacChinoNyc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
  13. hotinplaya macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    #13
    Glad it worked out for you

    last week I was using iLiberty, and during the process, we lost power, when I restarted everything, my iPhone was doing the same thing, black screen and repeating that message, I couldn't' get it to restore, spent several hours, went to bed feeling sick, $399.00 plus tax down the drain

    The next day, first try, I was able to get it to go into DFU mode and restored downloading 1.1.4 for several hours, and was able to run iLiberty! I know what type of feeling you were having!!
     
  14. sk8mash thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sk8mash

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #14
    Glad it worked out for you to! I didn't really know what I was doing from the start, so i guess i learnt by failing :p Google did help quite alot though!
     

Share This Page