iPhone without a data plan?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by asdfTT123, Jul 31, 2008.

  1. asdfTT123 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    #1
    I was thinking of purchasing a new phone since my old one is on the verge of dying. I'm currently using a very basic T-Mobile plan with no data or anything fancy. Would it be worth it to purchase an unlocked 2G iPhone to use with my plan? If so, is there any way I can turn off data so I don't get charged? Thanks.
     
  2. imfrog2002 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2007
    #2
    I have to say that the iPhone is a great phone. I'd suggest spending the $5.99/mo and getting the unlimited data, as it's WELL worth it. Not sure about turning off data, I just got the invisible shield installed and can't turn it on for another 22 hours. -_-
     
  3. benflick macrumors 68020

    benflick

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    #3
    i heard that, why cant you turn your iphone on after getting an invisible shield?
     
  4. chaoses macrumors member

    chaoses

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    Maryland, US
    #4
    so can AT&T upgrader from regular AT&T phone to iphone 3g ($30 data plan / month) cancel the data plan and just use voice and wifi?
     
  5. dancavallaro macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #5
    Because it's possible/fairly likely that you will get a little bit of the solution in your phone while putting it on, so it's best to let it totally dry before turning the phone on again.
     
  6. superwoman macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Location:
    Monterey,CA
    #7
    If your 2G iPhone is already jailbroken, then install an app called BossPrefs. It allows you to turn off EDGE, or Wifi, or both.
     
  7. Lord Egregious macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    #8
    I had an iphone for a month without a data plan while on att. I jailbroke it before I inserted my current sim card and installed bossprefs and disable edge. It worked perfectly. Then I redid the contract so now I'm on the att data plan and was able to switch it off and get edge working.

    Just make sure to install bossprefs before you put your sim in so you can avoid any attempts the iphone may make to access the edge network.
     
  8. illidian macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    #9
    This is all possible.

    Whether or not it's worth it is a question you have to answer for yourself. However, at $5.99/month with T-Mobile, your data plan is quite cheap.
     
  9. jezebel19 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    #10
    plan question

    Sorry if this question doesn't go here. I am new to whole iphone and actually having a contract. I had boost mobile before. Anyways I got 2 phones and was wondering about how much a month do you pay and what type of plan I am suppose to get. I don't want to get any extra stuff that i don't need. Any help will be much appreciated! Thanks!
     
  10. SCStevens04 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Location:
    NC
    #11
    BigBoss Working

    I installed BigBoss Preferences and turned EDGE off, however whenever I walk away from WiFi, I see that "E" pop up. Is EDGE really on in that case?

    1st Gen iPhone with 2.0
     
  11. rioja macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    #12
    It's not on. It's just showing that it's in Edge mode (no wifi available). That doesn't mean it can actually connect to Edge.

    If you want, try Safari when no wifi is available and the Edge icon is there. You should get an error saying that it can't connect.
     

Share This Page