iPhone without data plan!HELP!

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by pukifloyd, Sep 27, 2009.

1. pukifloyd macrumors 6502a

pukifloyd

Hello everyone...i have a few questions...sorry if this has been posted before but i tried searching on the forums but couldn't find anything!

I am new to the US...I wanted to buy 2 iphones on family plan but i dont want to spend $60 for data plans...my questions are:

1. i heard about early termination thing...how can i terminate the contract after one month?what will the total charges be including everything?if i cancel the service does it means i am canceling the voice plan also($59)?

2. will my credit history be damaged or affected(its my mother's actually, she just applied for a credit card so i dont want to take any risks) if i terminate the contract?

3.can i keep the iphones and use them without the data plan on att family plan?

4. can you guys recommend some other options(except buying them for $500-$700...+$1000 for phones is too much!)

5. what if i buy refurb 3g?can i still cancel the contract?

thanks a lot!
    peace

2. goosnarrggh macrumors 68000

1) This is easy: The early termination option would apply to the whole account, including the voice plan. You'd also lose your phone number unless you'd previously ported it over to a different service.

2) This ought to be easy too: Your credit score should only be negatively affected by having total available credit that significantly outstrips your income, or else by having any accounts in arrears. The first consequence would be caused by applying for too many credit cards or other forms of debt. The second consequence would be caused by failing to make on-time payments in full for any bills you receive.