iphone without data plan PLEASE HELP!!

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by chrissy22, Jul 21, 2010.

  1. chrissy22 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    #1
    Okay, I'd like to buy the iPhone as soon as possible, but i dont want to pay for the data plan (i have w-fi access in a lot of places).

    Ive been doing a lot of research and this is what i found out, help me out, is it correct???

    My plan:
    1. start a new contract and buy the iphone on that contract (pay for data plan for one month).
    2. After a month, put the SIM card in my blackberry and wait a couple minutes.
    3. call AT&T customer service and have them block the data (is this called WIX block?) on my account ("didnt like iphone and switched back to blackberry").
    4. put SIM card back into iphone

    Do i need to "cancel 3g service"?
    Would i get charged for data accessed through wi-fi if i didnt cancel 3g service?

    Will i still be able to send pictures/videos if i cancel the data plan?

    Will they "automatically add a data plan" if they find out? or just keep sending you txts about it?

    Have you recently tried this?

    PLEASE HELP, IM VERY MUCH IN NEED!!!!
    (if possible, please explain in as much detail you can?)
    :confused::)
     
  2. Goldinboy17 macrumors 65816

    Goldinboy17

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Location:
    San Francisco, Ca
    #2
    The iPhone comes with a mandatory data plan. You can remove it, but when you put your SIM in AT&T will eventually detect it. The contract stipulates that the iPhone requires a data plan. It's only $15 though, not $30 anymore. That is, if you're not going to be using much data.
     
  3. hcho3 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    #3
    Iphone 4 uses micro Sim and your blackberry doesn't. AT&T will find out you are using iphone 4 and put the data plan on your account. So, there is no point of trying this.
     
  4. CSMchris376 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Location:
    Illinois
    #4
    ALL smartphones on AT&T require a data plan. Also, even if you were able to discontinue the plan saying you were using a "dumbphone", as soon as you put the SIM back into the iPhone, AT&T would be able to recognize it and place the data plan back on. Do a search here and you'll see a number of posts in the last few days about people getting SMS messages from AT&T and getting data put plans back on. Data plans are just a requirement, contract or not when using an iPhone or other smartphone on AT&T.
     
  5. jfyrfytr25 macrumors 6502a

    jfyrfytr25

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    #5
    Sorry to say but your not going to get iphone data plan free.


    AT&T has made a policy as of late that says that ANY smart phone on the network must have a data plan. so even putting the sim in the Blackberry would not allow you to cancel the data.

    They know what you are using because every time your phone registers with the network it tells the network it's IMEI number. This IMEI number can tell ATT what type of phone it is. they do random sweeps to see who is using a smart phone and no data plan and they automatically add the data plan if you dont have one.

    I personally experienced this a few weeks ago. I had a blackberry from my brother that he no longer needed after he upgraded. I put my mom's SIM in it from her LG Shine phone cause she wanted to try it. I turned off the data in the phones settings. 12hours later there was a text saying that the use of a smart phone requires the data plan and one has been added to my account.

    There is no point in trying, you "might?" get away with it for a day or 2 but they will find it and "fix" it.
     
  6. MassiveAttack macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Location:
    New York
    #6
    To the OP: you're grossly misinformed. ATT requires you to have a data plan with any smart phone, which includes blackberry. You really have no choice but to pay for a data plan.
     
  7. maturola macrumors 68040

    maturola

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #7
    Pointless,,, you cannot cancel "3G" service..LOL

    and AT&T will add a data plan to your account as soon as the system see the iPhone ID.

    Get an iPod touch and a Prepaid phone or your calls.
     
  8. Summertime macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    #8
    As others have mentioned, AT&T requires a data plan on ALL smartphones, which includes iPhones and Blackberries. They will detect your phone and add a plan if you try and get around this. In addition, if you try it and then cancel the plan when it does not work the way you want, you will have to pay an early termination fee for breaking the contract. I believe the ETF for a smartphone is $375 so this is NOT worth even trying.
     
  9. chrissy22 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    #9
    i'm using a blackberry pearl right now without a data plan...?
    (i had my data blocked last summer on it tho)
     
  10. iphone1105 macrumors 68020

    iphone1105

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    #10
    either way, you're sol.....like another guy said, get a touch and cheapo phone, that obviously more suited for you with what you desire
     
  11. BobXX macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #11
    The mandatory data policy was implemented at the end of last year (Nov. IIRC), and everyone already using a smartphone without data was grandfathered in. As soon as you swap your SIM into another smartphone, however, you lose that benefit.

    Also, what everyone else has already posted about AT&T requiring ALL smartphones to have data is incorrect. You can still get away with using GSM smartphones that work with AT&T but were never offered by AT&T (in any form). You won't be forced to add a data plan because AT&T's systems will not recognize the model of your phone.
     
  12. swindmill macrumors 6502a

    swindmill

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    KY
    #12
    My friends LG Vu (??) wasn't working so I put her SIM card from ATT into an iPhone 3G and turned off cellular data. That was a couple of weeks ago and she hasn't heard anything about a data plan. I'm not making any claims, I'm just saying she hasn't heard anything and the iPhone is still working.
     
  13. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #13
    Not yet but give it time.
    It might take weeks or a month but they do catch it and all you get is a text message telling you an iphone data plan has been added to your account. Trust me I know first hand :)
    Its just $15, pay it.
    You wont be able to receive or send MMS and no visual voicemail either with no data so that alone would cripple the experience IMO.
     
  14. Rodimus Prime macrumors G4

    Rodimus Prime

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    #15
    no go. Once a data plan is added to ANY smart phone there is no way to remove it.
    You upped you contract so now the data plan is stuck. You agreed to the data plan when you got the iPhone.
     
  15. dallas112678 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    #16
    You need a data plan with an iPhone. If you don't want to pay then get an iPod touch and a basic phone. Simple, you want a smart phone then buck up and pay smart phone prices.
     
  16. koilvr macrumors 6502

    koilvr

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN
    #17
    Whats an iphone touch?
     
  17. eastercat macrumors 68040

    eastercat

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    PDX
    #18
    Even if you managed to figure out a way to go data free, you won't be able to send MMS. MMS requires the data plan.
    Get a pre-paid. I've read of some people who've had luck inserting pre-paid SIMs into their iPhone. I suggest you read up on that first before attempting.
     
  18. ClutchThese macrumors 65816

    ClutchThese

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Location:
    Alexandria, VA
    #19
    to OP...dude, its like 15$ to have 200 mb of data!!! lol, not that big of a deal!! if youre that pressed for 15$ you shouldn't get a smartphone in the first place.
     
  19. swindmill macrumors 6502a

    swindmill

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    KY
    #20
    She's going to get an iPhone 4 when she's eligible in September. In the meantime she probably should just switch over to an iPhone plan. I imagine her concern will be going over 200mb
     
  20. Corey213 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #21
    I editted after I saw a post above. So now I'm not as sure as I was because of visual voice mail

    It's possible, if you can get past visual voice mail

    The only thing is with the iPhone it is going to be extremely difficult. I have been thinking about this and am going to do it myself. AT&T doesn't know what phone you are using when you switch accounts because they do not go back and check. They will know once you have trouble and call in or go in for help. I bought a Nokia e71x off ebay and started using this phone myself. The e71X is a smartphone that requires the dataplan but I was able to use it without one.

    DO NOT think you can use wifi. I did this with the e71X. I wasn't online a lot but just from the time I was, AT&T charged me $50 for using the internet. I called in and talked to them. They said that since it is a smartphone, I needed a data plan. They took the charges down to $25 and asked if I wanted to enter the phones information into our account but if I did I would have to buy a data plan, so I said no thank you.

    The problem with the iPhone is that it is EXTREMELY easy to use the internet without knowing. By using apps that use the internet or suggest to post your high score "global", to using locations on photos or just accidentally hitting the internet button. I may also be able to do it because I am on a family plan with unlimited text already. You can switch the sim cards in your phone and then switch back but make sure you turn off:
    -Wifi
    - 3G
    -Locations
    - Notifications or Push
    -visual voicemail...if possible
    anything else

    using the phone without the plan is possible. My phone has the iphone 2G that he is using as an iPod touch with a camera. Good luck!
     
  21. JustinSaneV2 macrumors 6502

    JustinSaneV2

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    #22
    There's no way to "trick" AT&T when it comes to iPhones and data plans. Just get the 200MB plan and use wi-fi as often as you can.

    Either that or just get an iPod and a dumbphone...
     
  22. Corey213 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #23
    no it's possible. If you destroy your phone and go down to a dumbphone, then you cancel the data plan
     
  23. kate-willbury macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    #24
    = loser who can't afford the iphone and just wants to look cool
     
  24. BobXX macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #25
    Exactly, it doesn't matter whether you actually use data with it or not. As soon as you connect to AT&T's network, they can access your IMEI, which identifies your phone as an iPhone. This identification check does NOT occur on a regular basis, but it does occur randomly and eventually. Because AT&T knows that the iPhone is a smartphone, the mandatory data plan will be added at that time.

    As I stated earlier, this was NOT the case until the end of last year.

    If you really want a smartphone without data, I do know that a BB Storm, Storm 2, or Tour will work, but you won't get 3G, though that shouldn't really matter if you're not using data.
     

Share This Page