iphone won't restore, no error messages

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by dave22r, Aug 27, 2011.

  1. dave22r macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Location:
    Middle of nowhere, MO
    #1
    bought an iPhone today, plugged it into iTunes and it said the phone was in recovery mode and needed a restore. no problems, I've been there before. pressed restore, it did it's thing, got the phone restarting message... good so far. phone turned on, dinged and iTunes said there is a phone in recovery again like nothing ever happened.

    the strange thing is no errors. it did a flawless restoration and didn't tell me anything was wrong. tried 2 different computers 2 different times, same results. haven't tried a custom firmware install yet. might try next.

    any ideas?
     
  2. tbozz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    #2
    same problem

    Did you ever find a solution to your problem? My 2g is doing to same thing. I restored and everything went fine, but now it says to plug it into to itune, did that but get a white screen with itunes on it, but no error code.
     
  3. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #3
    Put it into DFU mode, then restore and see what happens.
     
  4. tbozz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
  5. tbozz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    #5
    fixed

    Couldn't fix the phone by normal means, had to Jailbreak it....
     
  6. dalilblaze macrumors member

    dalilblaze

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    #6
    Had the same problem but got error 3194 and tried DFU and didnt work. I want to upgrade to IOS 5 but itunes wont restore or backup.:(
     
  7. dalilblaze macrumors member

    dalilblaze

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    #7
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

    I found the problem it was my host file that was changed because of cydia shsh.
     

Share This Page