iPhone won't update

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Samuriajackon, Jun 24, 2011.

  1. Samuriajackon, Jun 24, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2011

    Samuriajackon macrumors 6502

    Samuriajackon

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    #1
    I bought this iphone...and cleared it thru verizon before activating, so before I get flamed, This iPHone was not reported as lost or stolen...but it won't update. I get a error message which leads me to the link

    http://support.apple.com/kb/TS1275

    has anyone had this problem? is there anyway i can see if someone who owned it previously tried to jail break and screwed it up?

    I don't want the phone if it can't upgrade to the new OS Stuff, I've tried all the stuff above and a factory reset thru iTunes

    TIA; going form 4.2.6. to 4.2.8, if that means anything.
     
  2. dave420 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    #2
    What specific error does it give you? Different errors call for different solutions, and that page covers a lot of different problems.
     
  3. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #3
    Is your phone unlocked? If not, just restore the phone in DFU mode (see my sig).
     
  4. iFiend macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #4
    "...and cleared it thru verizon before activating"
     
  5. Samuriajackon thread starter macrumors 6502

    Samuriajackon

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    #5
    Here's a pic, if i click on the more info button it gives me the page listed above.[​IMG]
     
  6. MasterTick macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #6
    Same thing happened to me, doing this fixed the issue.

    Mac OS X


    How to Fix Error Code 1013:

    Mac OS X:

    Step 1. On your Mac, go to your “Applications” folder.

    Step 2. Now navigate to the “Utilities” folder.

    Step 3. Launch "Terminal".

    Step 4. Type "sudo nano /etc/hosts" (without quotes) and hit return.

    Step 5. Enter your password

    Step 6. Use the down arrow key to find the “gs.apple.com” entries. Once the cursor is in front, make sure you comment out the line(s) by entering “#” in front of the text.

    Step 7. Save the file by pressing CONTROL+O.

    Step 8. Exit the nano editor by pressing CONTROL+X.

    Step 9. Update iPhone.
     
  7. jaseone macrumors 65816

    jaseone

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Location:
    Houston, USA
    #7
    Are you trying to manually update to a certain IPSW? That is what it looks like and that you have the wrong one for the VZW iPhone.
     
  8. Samuriajackon thread starter macrumors 6502

    Samuriajackon

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    #8
    I just plugged in the iPHone and it wanted to run an update, i don't know what an IPSW does or why i would update it..., like I said, i thought this thing was used but they didn't say it was hacked or jail broken or anything.
     
  9. dave420 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    #9
    Follow the instuctions posted by MasterTick and you should be good to update.
     
  10. Samuriajackon, Jun 24, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2011

    Samuriajackon thread starter macrumors 6502

    Samuriajackon

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    #10
    Okay i have the GNU up but it just looks like a blank file, there's not "Open File" or anything and pressing the down key does nothing.


    EDIT: OMG I was spelling it wrong, okay I got the file to open but i don't see anything with gs.apple.com in any of the lines.

    Thanks for all help btw.
     
  11. MasterTick macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #11
    Try going to gs.apple.com in your browser.

    It should redirect to www.apple.com/404
     
  12. Samuriajackon thread starter macrumors 6502

    Samuriajackon

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    #12
    It did indeed go there, but I still don't have those lines in my host file, or any information other then the following



    ##
    # Host Database
    #
    # localhost is used to configure the loopback interface
    # when the system is booting. Do not change this entry.
    ##
    127.0.0.1 localhost
    255.255.255.255 broadcasthost
    ::1 localhost
    fe80::1%lo0 localhost



    That's the end of the file.
     
  13. jaseone macrumors 65816

    jaseone

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Location:
    Houston, USA
    #13
    Try a hard reset on the iPhone (hold home and power until the apple logo comes up), seems to have worked for some other users
     
  14. MasterTick macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #14
    Ugh, well it looks like you aren't having the same issue that I had.

    I'll keep looking around though.
     
  15. Samuriajackon thread starter macrumors 6502

    Samuriajackon

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    #15
    I hope apple fixes this crap in the iOS5 update. I dont' like not knowing what's going on with my electronics...
     
  16. Samuriajackon thread starter macrumors 6502

    Samuriajackon

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    #16
    Have u tried taking that file and clearing the code out and replacing it with code that you know to be good? Do you know where i can try to find an example of good code?
     
  17. jaseone macrumors 65816

    jaseone

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Location:
    Houston, USA
    #17
    The instructions he gave was to clear out some modifications a utility, TinyUmbrella makes to assist with jailbreaking so if you had used that in the past the changes might have still been in your hosts file. The contents of the file you posted look fine though and doesn't have such changes in it.
     
  18. Samuriajackon, Jun 24, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2011

    Samuriajackon thread starter macrumors 6502

    Samuriajackon

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    #18
    Half the problem is that I don't know the history of the phone. It might have been jail broken or attempted to hack it, but it was on the verizon network without any lapses(According to customer service) and i bought the phone from the original owner, so I don't what else to check.

    I did try a hard reset just now, no effect.

    EDIT: I just plugged in my iphone and it is now auto updating..maybe it was the hard reset.
     
  19. jaseone macrumors 65816

    jaseone

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Location:
    Houston, USA
    #19
    That wouldn't effect your hosts file on your computer at all. Some posts I read said they had success just after powering off their phone for a few mins and powering it back on but I can't see why that would be any different to a hard reset unless it maybe causes something to be triggered on VZW's network?
     

Share This Page