iPhone X A1865 version

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by wowotoe, Sep 14, 2017.

  1. wowotoe macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    #1
    If I want to get the A1865 (GSM + CDMA) version of iPhone X and use it on Tmobile, does that mean I need to select Verizon as carrier and pay the full price?

    For the same price, A1865 has lot more bands than A1901 (GSM only).
     
  2. Starfyre macrumors 68030

    Starfyre

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2010
    #2
    Why don't you just get the Tmobile version? Historically, the Verizon version works on Tmobile's network, but speeds could not be fully unlocked.
     
  3. Shadowbech macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Location:
    Planet iPhone
    #3
    What good is it if you get the T-mobile model and later you choose to switch carriers and want to go on Verizon? Your screwed because T-mobile Model will not work on CDMA networks at all. Period.
     
  4. wowotoe thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    #4
    Also, from what I read, Qualcomm's CDMA/GSM chip is supposed to be faster & better than Intel's. Apple has to step down Qualcomm's speed so all phones are on the same bar. That's why I'm leaning toward getting the CDMA + GSM version.
     
  5. rickybit macrumors newbie

    rickybit

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2017
    #5
  6. metsjetsfan macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    #6
    The cdma version is probably better like last year. But whether or not anyone outside of these forums care or will notice any difference is unlikely unless you spend a ton of time in a CDMA only Country.
     
  7. Shadowbech macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Location:
    Planet iPhone
    #7
    T-Mobile and Att model will not work on verizon or Sprint network. This is because the att/t-mobile has the intel modem, which is GSM only. I'm aware that they now have license to use CDMA but they aren't using it this time around. Verizon and Sprint uses CDMA technology.
     
  8. rickybit macrumors newbie

    rickybit

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2017
    #8
    You can still use the T-Mobile iPhone on Verizon/Sprint over LTE, making phone calls is not a problem for me. Of course, the CDMA is disabled.
     
  9. Rigby macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    #9
    The times when Verizon phones require CDMA support are coming to an end. Over 90% of their traffic now goes over the LTE network, and some phone manufacturers now offer phones without CDMA for Verizon (e.g. HTC U11). Verizon has said that they will sunset the CDMA network by 2019. I wouldn't be surprised if Apple dropped CDMA in the next generation or the one after that as well.

    That said, you may still occasionally encounter areas where only CDMA works.
     

Share This Page

8 September 14, 2017