iPhone X Multitasking UI bug.

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by WilliamG, Nov 3, 2017.

  1. WilliamG, Nov 3, 2017
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2017

    WilliamG macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #1
    I'm used to swiping up on the multitasking cards on my iPhone 7, so, of course - I'm trying to do that on the iPhone X which doesn't work.

    However, a side effect is that it actually breaks the UI temporarily.

    Here's how you recreate the bug:

    1.) Have a few apps open in the background.
    2.) Swipe up and hold/let go to invoke multitasking.
    3.) Swipe any app up from within the multitasking window (like you would do on the previous iPhones to close the app).

    What will happen is the screen will go back to your Home screen, and you won't be able to bring up multitasking again until you actually open any app and do it from there. Even if you open an app and then close it, multitasking STILL won't work until you invoke multitasking from WITHIN an app. You can't even swipe left to right on the Home screen to switch apps until you do this.

    So, pro tip: Don't swipe your multitasking apps upwards.


    *EDIT*

    Apparently this is by design, and you need to pause MUCH more deliberately to invoke multitasking from the Home screen. Oy... embarrassing for me. :D
     
  2. deadworlds macrumors 65816

    deadworlds

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Location:
    Citrus Heights,CA
    #2
    Ummm I just tried this and works as normal for me.
     
  3. Lobwedgephil macrumors 601

    Lobwedgephil

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2012
    #3
    Just tried this, and I am still able to bring up multitasking again from the home screen.
     
  4. WilliamG thread starter macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #4
    Interesting. I absolutely cannot. I'll try and record my screen to show you.
     
  5. deadworlds macrumors 65816

    deadworlds

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Location:
    Citrus Heights,CA
  6. oOMezzaOo macrumors member

    oOMezzaOo

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2017
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    You hold on an app to bring up the red cross. This will then let you close it.
     
  7. WilliamG thread starter macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #7
    I recognize this. Let me show you a video of the issue. Uploading now..
    --- Post Merged, Nov 3, 2017 ---
    Not yet. Video incoming...
    --- Post Merged, Nov 3, 2017 ---
    Here you go:

     
  8. Knowimagination macrumors 68000

    Knowimagination

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    #8
    Once you have the x up on the cards you can still just swipe them like before.

    Interested to see the video of issue.
     
  9. WilliamG thread starter macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #9
    Yes I know! :) I'm just getting used to having to hold on the cards to do that, and swiping up without doing that causes the above effect. Video is uploaded, above.
     
  10. oOMezzaOo macrumors member

    oOMezzaOo

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2017
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    You need to pause more when doing it from the home screen. It looks like you are doing it too fast.
     
  11. WilliamG thread starter macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #11
    You solved it. I guess it's not a bug but something that's just not consistent...
     
  12. oOMezzaOo macrumors member

    oOMezzaOo

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2017
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    Just takes a bit of time to get used to it. We will all get there .
     
  13. WilliamG thread starter macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle
    #13
    Agreed, thanks for chiming in there.
     
  14. oOMezzaOo macrumors member

    oOMezzaOo

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2017
    Location:
    UK

Share This Page

13 November 3, 2017