iPhone X iPhone X slow mo quality is poor

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by vanilla.coffee, May 26, 2018.

  1. vanilla.coffee macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    I have noticed that the quality of the slo mo footage at 240 fps - 720P is quite poor on my X.
    120fps at 1080P is only marginally better. Is it just my unit and I need to get it checked by a genius or is it normal?
    I don't recall my iPhone 7 being so poor.
     
  2. BugeyeSTI macrumors 68020

    BugeyeSTI

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2017
    Location:
    Arizona
    #2
    Your iPhone X doesn’t record slo-mo at 720 only 1080 at 120 or 240fps
     
  3. Vermifuge, May 26, 2018
    Last edited: May 26, 2018

    Vermifuge macrumors 68000

    Vermifuge

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    #3
    What aspect of the video do you consider to be poor? Clarity? Smoothness? Color? Brightness? Do you have an example of the slow motion footage you find unacceptable uploaded somewhere?

    Without knowing any details, we can only make assumptions. My guess is the slow motion video was shot in a dimly lit location and/or a lighting system that has caused a strobing effect.
     
  4. fred98tj macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2017
    Location:
    Central Luzon, Philippines
    #4
    And also that the OP is not using a X side it can not record 720p @ 240fps.
    Maybe the OP is using some 3rd party app that allows it and, if so, should specify such.
     
  5. davidmartindale macrumors regular

    davidmartindale

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Location:
    PNW, USA
    #5
    Umm yes it does. I don't have my X on me atm but I was just looking through the camera settings last night. Slow mo 720pm @ 240fps is an option
     
  6. lrsone macrumors 6502

    lrsone

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Location:
    New York, NY
  7. Vermifuge macrumors 68000

    Vermifuge

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    #7
  8. vanilla.coffee thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #8
  9. vanilla.coffee thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    Yes it does.
    [​IMG]
     
  10. BasicGreatGuy Contributor

    BasicGreatGuy

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Location:
    In the middle of several books.
    #10
    I wonder why the 720p option isn’t showing for everyone. I don’t have it either.
     
  11. mattguy10 macrumors 6502a

    mattguy10

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    #11
    The 720p option only shows if you change “Formats” under Settings > Camera to “Most Compatible.”
     
  12. vanilla.coffee thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    Video quality is poor using 240 at 720P
    As if one was shooting with a 3GS.
    Resolution is poor in comparison with normal video at 30 or 60fps.
     
  13. BugeyeSTI macrumors 68020

    BugeyeSTI

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2017
    Location:
    Arizona
    #13
  14. lrsone macrumors 6502

    lrsone

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Location:
    New York, NY
    #14
    Yeah there has to be a reason for that...
     
  15. davidmartindale, May 27, 2018
    Last edited: May 28, 2018

    davidmartindale macrumors regular

    davidmartindale

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Location:
    PNW, USA
  16. macduke macrumors G3

    macduke

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Location:
    Central U.S.
    #16
    Perhaps it’s a bug that it’s showing up for users with a certain setting and so it has not been properly tested? Why even shoot in 720p anyway and complain about quality? Just do 1080p. Obviously OP doesn’t care about storage space since they’re using the non-HEVC mode.
     
  17. davidmartindale, May 28, 2018
    Last edited: May 28, 2018

    davidmartindale macrumors regular

    davidmartindale

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Location:
    PNW, USA
    #17
    I don’t think it’s a bug, if you look at the storage usage the 720p takes up more space than the 1080p 120fps on high efficiency. So I would imagine it’s there as an option for people who are like me haha and a couple others here haha.

    Ehh, I know for me the reason I have it set that way is just my use case.

    A: I rarely shoot in slo-mo (could be argued why not use 1080p then)

    B: My iPhone is the 64GB version with about 30GB of music and 10-15GB of apps.

    C: I don’t use the new formats because they are currently only readable on High Sierra (maybe some specialty sw as well, but not that I know of) and my Mac is on El Capitan and I prefer to keep my photos and videos as universal formats.
     
  18. macduke macrumors G3

    macduke

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Location:
    Central U.S.
    #18
    C: You do know that the iPhone converts the videos when you send them, right?
     
  19. davidmartindale macrumors regular

    davidmartindale

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2011
    Location:
    PNW, USA
    #19
    When you send them sure. But not when you import via image capture. At least that’s what I’ve noticed. But maybe that was a bug
     

Share This Page