iPhone XS Max iPhone XS Max - Face ID range

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by AJAAY, Sep 26, 2018.

1. AJAAY macrumors 6502

AJAAY

I upgraded from the 8 plus to the Max, so this is my first time extensively using Face ID. What is the range of the Face ID sensor? It seems to be very limited (at least on my Max).

When at work I have the phone laying flat on the desk, and I find more often than not I have to lean over and look straight down at the phone for Face ID to register. Also when the phone is still laying flat on the desk turned at a slight angle, Face ID will not register.

I also noticed while playing with Animojis and holding the phone regularly at the standard angle, when I slightly tilt the top of the phone away from me, the Animoji no longer registers. Just seems like a very limited range.

2. OTACORB macrumors 68000

OTACORB

Maybe you need to do a secondary scan with it on your desk to scan the bottom of your chin and neck! LOL. Honestly not trying to be funny.. but from that angle that is all it can see and you scanned your face. My solution was a phone stand... works perfectly!

3. itsmilo macrumors 68020

itsmilo

You need to pick it up for Face ID to be even triggered is how I understood it.

4. AJAAY thread starter macrumors 6502

AJAAY

That is quite disappointing. I wish it was Touch ID and Face ID, and not just Face ID. Looks like for my use, Face ID is not the better solution.

5. BugeyeSTI, Sep 26, 2018
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2018

BugeyeSTI macrumors 68030

BugeyeSTI