Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mhill24

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 10, 2008
Darnassus
If you are wondering how I found out this little tidbit of tech trivia read on...
I am a support analyst for a hospital and it is my job to cater to the VIP's, you know CEO, CIO, COO, and any other letters that go after a name as well as the high profile M.D.'s PHD's, surgeons and any other persons with many, many, many years of higher education... The following is an email chain from a doctor I support and it is my hopes to share a laugh with my fellow IT peeps who just can't believe some of the support questions they get. I can tell you we had a field day with this one in the cube farm.

These are the actual emails.... only altered to protect the errrr ummm... innocent. My comments are in italics.

----- Original Message -----
To: ME
Sent: Wed Jul 09 07:54:05 2008
Subject: Support Center Notification

Incident Number : 236742
Open Date: 7/9/2008 7:53:47 AM
Initial Category:
Incident Description: Dr. ______’s phone is suddenly magnetic. Is it supposed to be?

-----Original Message-----
Sent: Wednesday, July 09, 2008 8:01 AM
To: The Doctor’s Secretary <--I obviously know her quite well
Subject: Fw: Support Center Notification

Wtf do u guys make some of this $ up to make me pull my hair out?

To: Me
Sent: Wed Jul 09 08:03:12 2008
Subject: RE: Support Center Notification

Idk! I'm just relaying the message! I saw it pick up a paperclip with my own two eyes and he swears it isn't suppose to do that and he doesn't want to hold a magnet to his head.

Sent: Wednesday, July 09, 2008 8:06 AM
To: The Doctor’s Secretary
Subject: Re: Support Center Notification

Tell him he is going to have to do better than that to get an iPhone :)

We recently rolled out Blackberry's enterprise wide and the good Dr. wants an iPhone instead.