iPhoto '06 Help

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by phalewhale, Jun 26, 2007.

1. phalewhale macrumors 6502a

phalewhale

Hi, I'm new to iPhoto having made the switch and would like to know if it's possible to get rid of the

that appear in the library source. I don't want to sort them into years like this. Whenever I create an album and move my photos into a new albulm, they remain in the year folder - I hope that doesn't mean there are 2 copies of the same photo lurking around my machine... This is annoying. I want to control where the pictures are stored!

I would prefer to be using Photoshop Elements (since there are more editing options) but there's no way I'm gonna pay for a copy that won't run native on an intel mac. So for now, iPhoto will have to do.

Any help/suggestions out there?

2. skybolt macrumors 6502a

Stay out of the finder! Forget that it exists and do whatever you want to do to/with your photos from within the iPhoto app. The finder arranges the photos so that the app can find them. If you mess with that, your photos will be lost, corruption will ensue and you will be very unhappy.

Trying to micromanage your files is the Windows way, the mac way is much easier and more effective. You are trying to make things harder than they are!

Organize within the app. Rename rolls, create folders and albums and organize that way. You need the files in the finder to stay where they are so that iPhoto can find them. The photos in the app are actually aliases to the ones in finder. iPhoto keeps the originals and the modified (cropped, rotated, cleaned up, etc.) files in their own folder, but that is the only duplication. Do all your emailing, uploading to sites (like MySpace, etc.) from within the app. Use the export function to export folders, etc. to the desktop then upload from there.