iphoto and .rwl files?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by Kyffin, Sep 29, 2010.

1. Kyffin macrumors 6502

Hi there, I was wondering if anyone is using iphoto to process .rwl files- I appreciate that people working in leica raw here may be using something more sophisticated than iphoto but I'm new to pp and would appreciate any tips that would let me get decent images from what I have before committing to more advanced software from the start.

Particularly, I'm having difficulty in replicating the colours and sharpness of the images that the camera's jpeg converter puts out- while it would be a fair waste of effort & disk space to try to match these- I'm wondering if there's something I'm missing (practice?) or whether the software isn't as geared to this proprietary file format?

Thank you!

2. spinnerlys Guest

spinnerlys

Has Leica shipped any software with the camera that you could use to work with Leica's own format?

3. Kyffin thread starter macrumors 6502

thank you

Yes they did, although I bought my camera preowned (with disk- although already registered). It's my first proper camera and I'm thrilled with it but unfortunately I hadn't factored that into account (and havn't the time at the moment to get into the ap/ps/cap1 decision) so am trying to make do with what I have.
    I suppose I could give the capture one month trial a go- have you used it?

4. spinnerlys Guest

spinnerlys

I don't know what "capture" is, but Apple's Aperture has a 30-day trial, as does Adobe LightRoom, which I use due to better integration with Photoshop (one can drag a RAW directly from LR to PS without prior conversion, but Aperture does not allow that and wants to transcode it to something else first).

5. Kyffin thread starter macrumors 6502

Ah, thanks for the information- this is all something to be looking at (must finish thesis first though)- just to make clear CaptureOne is by Phaseone and is the raw converter that leica used to ship before lightroom.