iPhoto Best Practices

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by MEJHarrison, May 20, 2014.

1. MEJHarrison macrumors 6502a

Hi,

I'm new to iPhoto. Been playing with it for a couple weeks now. I know to avoid folders and concentrate on faces, places, tags and so on (I've been a programmer for 25 years, so I understand relational databases). I started off very, very small. Just a hundred or so photos. Now that I've got a handle on that, I'm taking the next big step and adding my entire "Family" folder from my old Windows machine. Once I get comfortable with those photos, I'll probably add the rest of my library.

So I've been playing with Faces. I'm adding all the faces I can. I'm even adding some in manually.

Faces seemed logical at first. I'm just confused how to handle those photos where their face isn't in the picture for one reason or another. My current thinking is to simply tag everyone in the photo and not worry too much about faces at this point. But that doesn't feel right either. Maybe I need to think of Faces as just the subset of someone's photos where their face is clearly, much like a Smart Folder might be a subset of photos of whatever that are rated 5 stars?

So, any advice on how to deal with these types of photos? What metadata would you add to these?

A) Clear picture of "Sally"
    B) It's a family photo. You can see "Sally". But her face is hidden behind someone else.
    C) A photo of homemade cinnamon rolls that Sally and I worked on together.

What I've been doing so far... A) would get tagged in Faces. B) I'd add a keyword (tag) for this photo so I know that "Sally" was in there. C) I'd add tags for "Sally", "Mark" and "Food" (I'm adding Sally and Mark because WE made the cinnamon rolls).