iPhoto Question

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by TreyCox, Sep 22, 2013.

1. TreyCox macrumors regular

I'm new to iPhone photography. I purchased an iPhone 5s and I have totally fallen in love with its camera. I took a lot of pictures yesterday and today and I just tried to import them all to my iMac. iPhoto opens automatically whenever I connect the iPhone, showing all of the photos that I've taken... except that they're all RAW photos. I used the filters (Noire, Fade, Chrome, Mono, etc.) on some of the photos. How do I get iPhoto to import the photos with the filters still applied? Thanks, guys.

Also, if I'm in the wrong section I'm very sorry and mods, please move if need be.

2. Designer Dale macrumors 68040

Designer Dale

I'm not a phone camera guy, but I'll take a shot at this.

RAW is a type of file format used in most upper end digital cameras. It's all the basic data as gathered by the sensor and is basically a digital negative that is developed by software. A RAW file isn't changed as it is modified. The changes are saved in what is called a "sidecar" file linked to it. If you don't like a change, you toss it from the sidecar and start over with the undamaged original.

Most phone cameras don't do RAW, just jpeg, but in reading the promo on the 5s camera from the Apple site my guess is that it does. Apple says you can add changes to photos before, during or after a shot and if you don't like the result just toss the filter effect. That sounds like some version of RAW to me.

It's been a long time since I last used iPhoto, but I don't recall it being able to recognize RAW, just jpeg. If that's still the case, then it's dumping the sidecar on import and just keeping a jpeg that it generates. It might keep the sidecar file but not be able to do anything with it so it doesn't show up. That's why your effects vanish. There's a trick for looking into the iPhoto library to see what's there, but I don't want to get into that just now.