iPod Classic 160GB stops song, resumes after 1 or 2 seconds

Discussion in 'iPod' started by Pope Jawn Pawl, May 8, 2008.

  1. Pope Jawn Pawl macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    #1
    I recently upgraded from a 4G 20GB ipod to a 160GB Classic. With random songs, the ipod will stop playing the song with about 25% left, pause for about 1-2 seconds, then resume playing.

    The same song does not do this in iTunes, nor did it do this on my 4G 20GB.

    All songs are 256KB AAC, 90% are ripped from CD in iTunes. I have about 110GB of music, 0GB of video, and 3GB of photos.
    Using XP Pro SP2, most recent firmware update for ipod, most recent software update for itunes, and it's done this since January.

    Restoring/flashing ipod doesn't help the problem.

    Is anyone else experiencing this?
     
  2. hexonxonx macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    #2
    Try upgrading to the latest iPod firmware. So far after a week of running the new firmware, my iPod doesn't seem to have the problem anymore.

    Connect the iPod to iTunes and if it does not tell you a new update is available, click on the check for updates button.
     
  3. Pope Jawn Pawl thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    #3
    It is on the most recent firmware (about a day ago).
     
  4. Pope Jawn Pawl thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    #4
    73 views and I'm the only person with an iPod that does this???
     
  5. Fuchal macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    #5
    My 80gb classic did this as well. It was very annoying.
     
  6. Pope Jawn Pawl thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    #6
    Did it ever go away?
     
  7. noshortcuts macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    #7
    I've got it too...

    I have a pretty new 160gb Ipod with the latest firmware. My songs are all Apple lossless. Random songs pause and restart in a second or two. I hate it. I can't remember for sure if it's happened with headphones but it happens when connected by USB or to a dock (connecting from the bottom for sound).
     
  8. Pope Jawn Pawl thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    #9
    Still does the pausing. No fix suggestion from Apple yet.

    If anyone else has this problem, please speak up!!!
     
  9. jrcsh6 macrumors 6502

    jrcsh6

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    #10
    yea, see my thread(from this morn). very similar problem. i have had your problem as well as those in my post....

    maybe 160 is too big, maybe we need to just wait for flash memory to get that big for reliability of the os on the ipod!...so wait 3 years and you'll have it haha
     
  10. noshortcuts macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    #11
    search for "ipod classic pauses songs" and see that this is a common problem for both Ipod Classic 80gb and 160bg rigs. My 160gb continues to randomly pause and continue songs. It does not matter if it is docked or using headphones. Sometimes it happens in the first half hour of play, sometimes after a couple or few hours. I guess I should at least try getting Apple to replace it and see if it is isolated to certain units.
     
  11. Cryptic1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    #12
    Ditto

    My 160 Classic pauses randomly as well. I also have a friend with a 160 Classic and his pauses too... It's beyond just irritating. What's the point of having a music player that stops in the middle of songs??? I hate to even bring it out at parties, because there's nothing that's more of a buzz kill than the music stopping randomly. Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrr... I know of quite a few people that haven't bought a new 160 Classic Ipod because I've implored them not to. It's been long enough now with not even a "we're working on it" stated somewhere, that I think Apple has our $$$ and just doesn't care. My $.02
     
  12. noshortcuts macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    #13
    I brought mine in under warranty and they replaced it. That would be great but I've already had one random song pause in just the first hours of listening. I'm no longer very hopeful.
     
  13. Pope Jawn Pawl thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    #14
    I'm convinced now that this is an inherent design flaw in the classics. The hard drives are too big and spinning too slow for the overtaxed processor and miniscule cache.

    I would gladly trade the coverflow and other useless crap for a fully functional PMP.
     
  14. tungstentim macrumors regular

    tungstentim

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    #15
    one side of me is relieved that it's not just me who's got this problem, the other is annoyed that so many are suffering with it without a solution.

    I'm still in warranty should I take it back before it's too late?

    Regards,

    Tim
     
  15. farleysmaster macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #16
    I'm wondering the same thing. I think it's only with lossless and/or very long audio files, for me, though.
     
  16. noshortcuts macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    #17
    IF enough people return them, maybe Apple will be more proactive at fixing this problem or at least releasing new and improved versions. I can dream.
     
  17. Pope Jawn Pawl thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    #18
    Apple's solution to the problem is discontinuing the 160GB.
     
  18. noshortcuts macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    #19
    IF the new 120gb doesn't have problems, maybe I'll keep bringing my 160gb in for repair/replacement under warranty until I get an offer to "downgrade" to the 120gb.
     
  19. tungstentim macrumors regular

    tungstentim

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    #20
    I'm going to have to get mine repaired, it is really annoying. Also the upgrade for existing classics isn't there so you can only think that there's no fix.

    I don't want to downgrade I bought the 160 for a reason,largest capacity and being able to play lossless in my car.

    The worst thing is that it skips with podcasts too.

    Tim
     
  20. shieber macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    #21
    There's no fix for this short of reinginering the 160GB Ipod. The memory buffer isn't large enough for the time it takes to access data from the hard disk. It doens't happen all the time; only when the disk access time is long -- say when a song is spread out in many sectors -- and perhaps alwo it's affected by other Ipod actions occuring at the smae time -- updating a playlist or doing something else at the same time So reformatting, reloading, getting anew Ipod might seem to fix the prob at first, but only because the data is put down in diff locations -- the prob will still pop up ocassionally when conditons are right.
     
  21. farleysmaster macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #22
    I turned off all the album art, and it seems like it may be a bit more responsive. Not really checked it out, though, because I Use my 2G iPod Touch much more, and although that had a similar problem it has since been fixed by firmware update.

    If the buffer is the problem, why is this only supposed to happen when the iPod is in screen-sleep mode?
     
  22. shieber macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    #23
    I don't think it only happens then. It happens rarely and the ipod is muchmore often in the screen off mode than the screen lit, so the odds are very high that you won't catch the two coinciding. But it happens.

     
  23. janstett macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    Location:
    Chester, NJ
    #24
    Mine does it very infrequently, I always assumed it was lag from the disk spinning up or disk seek times. Annoying but it happens pretty rarely.
     
  24. shieber macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    #25
    It's not just disk spin up or it would happen everytime the disk spins up wihich is very often. IN any event, a membory buffer is specially intended to prevent pauses during such episodes. If the buffer is too small to cover the longerst amount of time it takes to get more data and refill it, then it will empty ocassionally before more data can be gotten to refill it.

    Mine has gone for hour and hours without doing it and has done it several times in an hour--very unpredictale. The buffer inthe 160GB is the same size as inthe 80GB. Probably should have been bumped up a few notiches and then there would be fewer disk acesses as well no pauses.

     

Share This Page