iPod classic suddenly changes to next track

Discussion in 'iPod' started by DENZIE, Sep 10, 2007.

  1. DENZIE macrumors member

    DENZIE

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    #1
    Is anyone having problems with their new classic (mine's a 160gb) whereby it suddenly skips to the next song (in the album or playlist) for no reason?

    I don't mean skip as in when you go running and the song cuts in and out like on the old discmans, I mean just changes to the next track suddenly. I have checked the songs that it has skipped from in iTunes and they seem fine, aswell upon playing the song again on the iPod, I tried to scrub further into the song and it plays perfectly fine.

    So far this has happened about 5 time to me in about 2 days of owning it. I restored twice but still, every once in a while, skip she goes
     
  2. jockmock macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    #2
    There are some problems with m4a music (AAC and Apple Lossless) being encoded in another program than itunes. E.g. if you encode a song with dbpoweramp to apple lossless, there is a great risk your ipod will skip the song. Why this happens, I don't think anyone nows.
    One solution if you've encoded to apple lossless is to encode it to apple lossless again in itunes. That should work. Dunno if you should do that with AAC though, I think that would loose quality.
     
  3. DENZIE thread starter macrumors member

    DENZIE

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    #3
    hi, thanks for the input however all of my library is in mp3, I never had this problem with my 5.5 gen so i don't think its an encoding thing.. cheers
     
  4. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #4
    It's the new motion sensor chip - it detects if you aren't grooving to the song, and automatically switches to another one that might make you shake yer booty more.


    ;)
     
  5. losx12 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    #5
    Is it always the same songs it skips? My 5.5G iPod does the same thing if a song has been imported improperly. What i used to do is, for example, have a song at 128 kbps and replace it with the same song at a higher bit rate. I would replace it by deleting the song in my iTunes Music folder and adding the new song there. The link would be broken in iTunes but I'd just reconnect it when it asked me if i wanted to find the file. I did this to preserve play counts, ratings, etc. because if I added the song correctly, iTunes would consider it as a completely different and new song. When I did this, it would play just fine in iTunes but when i synced the song to my iPod it would play till about 75% of the song and then skip it, always at the same point. So if you've been messing with iTunes' file system like I used to do then that's what may be happening here. The best solution I found was to just import the new correctly and use Applescript to adjust the play count, then delete the old song. But if you haven't then I'm not sure what it could be.
     
  6. 8bitrevolution macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    #6
    My iPod classic is skipping some songs. It's not totally random though.

    When using coverflow, if I select an album and play it from the beginning, it will randomly skip the first track (most of the time it doesn't, sometimes it does, always the first track so far) and just go to the second track. I can hit back and play the first song without any issue. I can go back to coverflow, select the album and play it from the beginning and it won't skip at all.

    Very odd.
     
  7. CaptainCaveMann macrumors 68000

    CaptainCaveMann

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    #7
    Sounds like a software update could be coming. And when it does, it will probably fix those issues.
     
  8. mikemoosehead macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    #8
    I have the same issue even when not using coverflow.
     
  9. cpatch macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2007
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    #9
    I'm also having this problem on a 160GB iPod classic. It happens with both video and audio, with MP3/AAC/MP4, and is unrelated to coverflow. I haven't upgraded the firmware yet so I don't know if that fixes the problem.

    Craig
     
  10. apunkrockmonk macrumors 6502a

    apunkrockmonk

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    #10
    I have the same problem on my 160gb classic.

    I haven't installed the firmware update yet though so I have no idea if that fixes it or not.
     
  11. stealthnyc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    #11
    i have the same problem. recoding the songs in iTunes and resyncing helps those particular songs. but with over 4,000 songs its going to be a pain to fix them all.
     
  12. madaboutmymusic macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    #12
    Was anyone found a sure fire way to resolve this issue? Upgrading the firmware does not resolve the issue. When i play the tracks individually they do not skip and they are not ticked to skip when in shuffling.
     
  13. leshii macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    #13
    I'd love to know if this has been fixed. Mine started skipping to the next track, too. And if I go back to the track that skipped, it'll play just fine. It seems to be totally random.
     
  14. farleysmaster macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #14
    This is a problem I've had with large/lossless files on my iPod classic (that and slight sound glitches). I think it has to do with reduced processing power when the unit's screen goes to sleep. I haven't tested it properly, but two tests worth trying are to see if the problem still manifests itself when the unit is plugged into mains power (i.e. the wall socket) and if it manifests itself if the screen is set to never sleep.

    I suggest running a playlist of lossless files and getting on with other work...
     
  15. stevod macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Location:
    London
    #15
    What software did you guys use to code the tracks in the first place?

    I haven't had any problems with EAC/LAME.

    My Classic is 80GB though - don't know if that matters.

    S
     
  16. farleysmaster macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #16
    For me this is mostly with regards to Apple Lossless files.
     
  17. allblur macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    #17
    Your talking about the nano 4th gen, its called an accelerometer by the way, they have it in the sony ericsson phones for the walkman "shake" series.
     
  18. snguon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    #18
    i have the same problem but for just a handful of songs... it plays fine on my boyfriend's ipod (which is the same ipod as mine) I'm still under warranty, just going to get a replacement. you guys should try it because it can be a hardware problem... it's been happening since 2006 (i've done a lot of research) can't be the software , since itune and ipod updates often!
     
  19. d33rp4nt5 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    #19
    i have a 120gb classic that started doing this. i talked to apple support over the phone and they just told me to reset it. it seems to be working ok at the moment. they also said if it starts again to restore it.:eek:
     
  20. bahootie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    #20
    any solution???

    I have poured over this thread & don't see any solution? I have a Classic 80GB & it has always done this. The one I got first did it & the "geniuses" at the Apple store had no clue SO they gave me a new one! it does it as well.

    Do we really have no solution? If anyone with the same issue found a solution please please post so we can all benefit. Thanks!
     
  21. nubee macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    #21
    I just started having this problem. It's been doing this 8 seconds in to Half of My Heart by John Mayer and Taylor Swift. lol

    Disappointed that there's still no one who really knows what's causing this problem... :(
     
  22. apetown macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    #22
    I've got the same problem. I own an iPod classic, 120 Gb, and it skips after about 30 to 40% of some tracks or podcasts. Sometimes it even reboots to the Apple screen, and if I'm really lucky, the Apple screen looks completely pixelated with the range of about 4 colors.

    Mine's automatically linked to my iTunes library, I've got about 90 Gigs and a bunch of podcasts, so it just seemed easier to have my entire collection on the pod. I don't know if that has anything to do with it, as I've never seen people who seem to have this problem mention something likewise. For a while, I even thought it had something to do with the cold.
     
  23. danny_w macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    #23
    This has been a problem for me for ages and it affects everything from iTunes on my PC and Mac to every iPod I have ever owned. I have never found a solution and just live with it most of the time. All of my tracks have been imported via iTunes in AAC default format.
     
  24. GlynJones macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    #24
    Might not be connected but I have a similar problem with the last 20 seconds or so of some tracks being skipped.

    The problem is caused by adding your own cover art rather than the ones on the iTunes store.

    The way around it is to highlight the track or album and check gapless album. This fixes the problem for me everytime.

    It is a bug but apple seem reluctant to fix it.
     
  25. d33rp4nt5 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    #25
    Does anyone know if this works? I would really like to find a solution to this ridiculously annoying problem.
     

Share This Page