iPod constantly re-booting

Discussion in 'iPod' started by Krafty, Mar 2, 2010.

  1. Krafty macrumors 601

    Krafty

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Location:
    La La Land
    #1
    I got a new Classic about 2 months ago, everything was good. But recently, sometimes when I turn it off for a while then go to turn it back on, it re-boots to the screen with the Apple on it, then I have to wait 5 mins for it to do whatever the hell its doing.

    Everytime I change my home screen it keeps reverting back after doing this, recently I re-installed the latest firmware and its still doing this sometimes.

    It works there after, but I know its not suppose to do that.
     
  2. instaxgirl macrumors 65816

    instaxgirl

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #2
    Return it.
     
  3. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #3
    Contact for warranty repair.

    Out of return range.
     
  4. Krafty thread starter macrumors 601

    Krafty

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Location:
    La La Land
    #4
    Seriously? My first one randomly died and now this one has that serious of a problem? It didnt start happening until about about 2 weeks ago.
     
  5. instaxgirl macrumors 65816

    instaxgirl

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #5
    Yeah, when I said return it I meant for repair/replacement.

    My 4 year old iPod video does the freeze/reboot thing about once a year and even then it's fine after a minute. It's been dropped probably a thousand times by now, some of them quite epic falls and drops. My 5 year old iPod mini which has also had a hard life works flawlessly, so yeah if a restore hasn't fixed it then it's faulty I'm afraid.
     
  6. Krafty thread starter macrumors 601

    Krafty

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Location:
    La La Land
    #6
    It happens every now and then, and then its fine. The only pet peeve is when I change the main menu, they revert back to default after its loaded, so I just stopped changing it (its not biggie, all I did was remove 2-3 things anyways).
     

Share This Page