ipod/iphone sdk and app store

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by speedy11309, Jun 11, 2008.

1. speedy11309 macrumors newbie

hey all just a couple questions. i recently decided im going to buy a macbook and ipod touch. i dont really have a use for it other than to screw around with them. im a software developer and whats really interesting me is the sdk and being able to create my own apps. i havnt really been paying attention to all this stuff so i'm hoping someone can help me out.

first off, is there a different sdk for the iphone than the ipod touch? if not, the sdk applies to both, just the ipod wont have calling capabilities and the like i'd assume.

secondly, the new app store, during the WWDC i heard steve say something about something being $9.99 for ipod touch owners and free for iphone users. im not entirely sure what it pertains to because i was half listening as i was doing work and streaming it live over the net. was he talking about paying that just to use the app store or what?

and lastly, the app store itself, its usable on the touch, correct? also games like monkey ball or whatever will be usable on the touch? and roughly how large in size will these games be?

sorry for all the stupid questions. i know theyre relatively simple to answer so i hope someone can help me out. thanks.

2. mekopolis macrumors regular

first, you can download the sdk free, but have to be enrolled in the developer program, which is 99 bucks a year, in order to distribute your applications

you can sell your apps for whatever price, 70% revenue stream to you, 30 to apple

the 9.99 touch upgrade is suppose to be a sarbanes Ox. thing of transparent Accounting and accounting for adding value to a product...i think its bs/ but whatever its revenue for apple, so they can continue to do what they do, and at least it is not 20 bucks like the january upgrade

the reason why iphone users dont pay upgrade fees is there is a revenue stream with their monthly bills..