ipod is disabled

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by aaron05, Jul 14, 2008.

  1. aaron05 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #1
    How do I fix this we own a gun shop recently purchased the touch an it says that it is disabled . Just wondering how I can fix this problem ?? .... Thanks Aaron
     
  2. nish123456 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    #2
    What's that got to do with anything?
     
  3. aaron05 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #3
    Just stating fact , that we own a gun shop an don't really know a whole lot about the thing except the fact that it won't work ...
     
  4. nish123456 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    #4
    Oh, right. :D

    Well what exactly is wrong with it? What have you done with it so far?
     
  5. Phil A. Moderator

    Phil A.

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #5
    Are you saying you bought it from someone who brought it into the shop and want to unlock it to resell it?
    If so, are you sure the person who brought it in really owned it?
     
  6. aaron05 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #6
    Yes I need to unlock so I can resale ... We have things pawned all the time , that come for sale , . It could have been locked from previous owner thinking that they were goin to get it back an weren't able to .. All I know is that it says disabled, connect to I tunes ... Is there anything that can be done ..
     
  7. timbo-baggins macrumors newbie

    timbo-baggins

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #7
    Yes, connect it using an iPod-specific (white cable, should be in the box assuming you got a box) to a Mac or PC running iTunes and tell iTunes to perform a restore. That will take it back to the factory default state ready for re-sale.

    Tim
     
  8. aaron05 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #8
    I have a cable ,,, for my ipod nano is that the same as the ipod specific cable your talkin about ?? .. it is white lol
     
  9. timbo-baggins macrumors newbie

    timbo-baggins

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    #9
    That's right, same cable.

    Tim
     
  10. aaron05 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #10
    Ok nothing happens when I plub the ipod in ,, itunes doesn't come up or anything ?
     
  11. PMB macrumors 65816

    PMB

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    New York
    #11
    you have to turn it off, and hold the home button while plugging in the white ipod cable, it should go inti restore mode, and you can restore, and resale from there
     
  12. aaron05 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #12
    Sorry to continue to be such a pest .. but that doesn't work .. either is it possible that the port is messed up ?
     
  13. Pixellated macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    #13
    Hold it for about 10 seconds while it isn't plugged in.
     

Share This Page