iPod nano 1G won't sync over USB

Discussion in 'iPod' started by Mr_Brightside_@, Nov 15, 2007.

  1. Mr_Brightside_@ macrumors 68020

    Mr_Brightside_@

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Location:
    The 6ix
    #1
    Hi all, been having troubles with my nano. Basically, USB simply freezes it on connection to the computer, and it cannot be restarted unless connected via FireWire. Obviously data sync is not supported via FW, I get that message, but at least that powers it up. Still, USB freezes it up and it doesn't appear in iTunes, Finder or anything else. I will retry Disk Utility however; until then I'm charging it up via FW, and was wondering if anybody has any tips on what could be the problem. The iPod is Windows formatted (I don't usually use it) but it's just now docked to my iBook G4 @ 10.4.9 with iTunes 7.4.2. Not sure about the Windows box; presumably XP with iTunes 7. Cheers
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Have you tried using a different USB port or a different cable? Is it going through a hub? :)
     
  3. Mr_Brightside_@ thread starter macrumors 68020

    Mr_Brightside_@

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Location:
    The 6ix
    #3
    There's no hub, but I have used one cable with the PC and one with the Mac. Gonna try again now, it's fully charged. ... looks like nothing but we'll see.
    all I can get is Use iTunes to Restore in 5 languages... nothing in Disk Utility iTunes or System Profiler. What now?
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    Wait, so you've tried using different USB cables?
     
  5. Mr_Brightside_@ thread starter macrumors 68020

    Mr_Brightside_@

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Location:
    The 6ix
    #5
    Yes, separate cables with each computer. I'm now in the diagnostic mode, untethered to the computer.
    EDIT is it bad if it says USBPWR_Det : 0?
     
  6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6
    I think that error is normal since it's not plugged into your computer or an adaptor. Can it sync with the PC? :)
     
  7. Mr_Brightside_@ thread starter macrumors 68020

    Mr_Brightside_@

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Location:
    The 6ix
    #7
    No, as far as I know the USB port just freezes it.
     
  8. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #8
    Well then you really probably have to take it back to Apple.
     
  9. Mr_Brightside_@ thread starter macrumors 68020

    Mr_Brightside_@

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Location:
    The 6ix
    #9
    Ouch. Only 300km away...
     

Share This Page