iPod Touch 1st Gen Restore Issue

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by nanogirl21, Jun 30, 2014.

  1. nanogirl21 macrumors 6502a

    nanogirl21

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Location:
    Midwest United States
    #1
    Hi,

    My little bro has my old 1st Gen iPod Touch. Yesterday he decided to try to update the firmware from 1.1.3 to 1.1.5. Why did he do this? I have no idea! He first put the device in recovery mode then used iTunes to do the restore. iTunes found the updated ipsw file and attempted the restore. It failed. The error message is "The iPod could not be restored. An unknown error occurred [1]." I have tried downloading various ipsw files from the internet (everything from 1.1.1 - 3.1.3) and nothing is working. During the restore I noticed that the device switch from the plug and iTunes logo to the Apple logo. At this point is where the restore fails. I then have to unplug the device and hold down the power and home button for the iPod to restart and get off of the Apple logo. We have tried different computers (we are windows), different cords, and different usb ports. The computes and iTunes have no problem recognizing the device. It just will not restore. We spent 5-6 hours fussing with this decided trying to get it to restore. Anyone know what is going on, or better yet how to fix it?

    Obviously, this device is an older device and is not under warrenty so I don't think taking it to the Apple Store or calling support would be the best soloution. Last time I called support for a device that was not in warrenty they wanted a $20 fee. At that time I did pay it, but my issue still wasn't solved.

    Thanks

    -- PS. before someone comments about why we are using such an old version of the iPod Touch. The device is used soley for music. No games or internet - strictly for music. Since it's being used only for music I don't see the need to give a 12 year old a different device.
     
  2. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #2
    Press the Windows key+R to open the Run window, then enter:

    notepad %windir%\system32\drivers\etc\hosts

    Copy and paste the results here.
     
  3. nanogirl21 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    nanogirl21

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Location:
    Midwest United States
    #3
    # Copyright (c) 1993-2009 Microsoft Corp.
    #
    # This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
    #
    # This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
    # entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
    # be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
    # The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
    # space.
    #
    # Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
    # lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
    #
    # For example:
    #
    # 102.54.94.97 rhino.acme.com # source server
    # 38.25.63.10 x.acme.com # x client host

    # localhost name resolution is handled within DNS itself.
    # 127.0.0.1 localhost
    # ::1 localhost
     
  4. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #4
    Well that looks normal so that's not the issue. I'll have to defer to someone else.
     
  5. Hilux macrumors newbie

    Hilux

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    #5
    Is your iTunes up to date?, sometimes that can cause errors with restores. Also a friend of mine had a 1g they are still very good devices for music allot better than those cheap MP3 players.
     
  6. nanogirl21 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    nanogirl21

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Location:
    Midwest United States
    #6
    Just wanted to update just incase someone in the future needs help

    I was able to solve the issue by:
    (1) using a mac
    (2) using a genuine apple cable – the ones I was trying previously all have been third party
    (3) using iTunes 11.4.1.4.62
    (4) using firmware 3.1.2 – any other firmware would not work

    This thread can be marked as solved. Thank you.
     
  7. braddick macrumors 68040

    braddick

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Location:
    Encinitas, CA
    #7
    Is that still a paid upgrade with the original iPod Touch?
     
  8. nanogirl21 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    nanogirl21

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Location:
    Midwest United States
    #8
    No idea. I didn't pay for anything. I just googled for the IPWS file and downloaded it.
     

Share This Page