iPod Touch 4 and Clash of Clans update - should I upgrade to iOS 6.1.6?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by iRacer, Apr 30, 2015.

  1. iRacer, Apr 30, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2015

    iRacer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    #1
    I have an 8GB iPod Touch 4 on iOS 4.3.5
    I play a lot of MineCraft PE and Clash of Clans on it and it generally runs fine, until today.

    Clash of Clans has a new update which requires iOS 5.1.1 so the game will not start. It will start loading and then a message comes up saying there is a new version and it takes me to the App Store update. When I run the update it comes up withe the message saying I need 5.1.1

    Is it worthwhile upgrading to 6.1.6 so I can continue playing Clash of Clans?
    Basically I have lost my village as I can not load the game anymore.
    It don't really do much except play games on it.

    What issues are there with the iPod Touch 4 and iOS 6.1.6?
     
  2. cruisin macrumors 6502a

    cruisin

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    Every new version of iOS adds features that slow down your device. Whether this is something you notice or care about is up to you.

    There are really no issues with 6.1.3, everything has been fixed 2 versions ago. It will just be a bit slower.
     
  3. Yebubbleman macrumors 68030

    Yebubbleman

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #3
    You'd be updating to iOS 6.1.6 as 6.1.3 will likely no longer be signed by Apple (as iOS 8.3 is the current newest build for the fifth generation iPod touch and, while Apple didn't update the fourth gen iPod touch and iPhone 3GS to iOS 7 and, subsequently, iOS 8, they did make later builds of iOS 6 specificially for those devices [hence iOS 6.1.6])

    Anyway, I digress; iOS 6.1.x will run slower on that iPod touch than iOS 4.3.5; that much should be a given. If playing Clash of Clans is super important to you, I'd weigh that out; or consider getting this: http://store.apple.com/us/product/FE643LL/A/refurbished-ipod-touch-16gb-black-silver-5th-generation and then leaving your 8GB 4th Gen iPod touch at 4.3.5. I will say that if you do move to iOS 6, you'll have a much easier time doing so if you do a fresh wipe. Many an 8GB 4th Gen iPod touch user has had issues upgrading due to the size of the OS.
     
  4. iRacer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    #4
    Thanks for your info. Sorry mistyped - yes it should be 6.1.6
    That's my dilemma - keep it on iOS 4.3.5 or upgrade to iOS 6.1.6?
    So it basically is now just a games machine - we do have newer devices for web, email etc.

    The thing is we have different Clash of Clans villages on each device and the one we can share is the village on the iPod Touch 5th gen.
    So its update this iPod or leave it and lose the village...

    So if I do wipe the iPod first - will I get the saved game back? Do I just do restore to get all of the apps and saved data back?
     
  5. cruisin macrumors 6502a

    cruisin

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    If you backup then restore from backup, it should keep everything the same (including the save game data). Does the game have an online account that is used to stove game saves? That would make it doubly sure nothing is lost.
     
  6. iRacer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    #6
    Yes there is an online save but it is for one game only per game centre id and that is currently taken by another village #
     
  7. LMC91 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    #7
    I use iFunBox to copy the documents folder of an app for any of my game saves, usually dragging it back in is all that's needed to restore the save. Haven't done it with Clash of Clans but should work like any other game I've tried.

    http://www.148apps.com/news/backup-game-save-files-computer-restore-device/
     
  8. saudor macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    #8
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1709703

    Seems the 4G is pretty terrible at even basic stuff on ios6.. not sure how heavy clash of clan is but it might be best to wait for someone with an actual 4g/ios6 to test it out..

    then again.. i suppose it wouldnt hurt to upgrade if that's all you use the ipod for anyways
     
  9. iRacer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    #9
    So I decided to updated my Pod Touch 4g to iOS 6.1.6, and everything seems fine.
    The iPod was slow anyway, so I don't notice any speed issues and Clash of Clans loads and runs okay.
     
  10. becneel macrumors member

    becneel

    Joined:
    May 9, 2015
    #10
    I don't understand why tthey won't let the iPod touch 4G have iOS 7 ?
     
  11. Paddle1 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    #11
    It's too under-powered.
     
  12. iRacer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    #12
    Two factors really - old A4 processor and not much ram 256mb.

    I have had the iPod on 6.1.6 for about a week now. It runs Clash of Clans fine. Minecraft PE is a little slow but still playable.
    The main issue is the lack of ram. So I do have to manage what is open. 2 apps seems to be okay, anymore and safari crashes.
    Battery doesn't last too long but this is more the age of the device.
     
  13. essential macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    #13
    If you have your village on your GameCenter account that's what it's linked to. I've logged in to my game center account on friends iPads just to empty mines, everything loaded fine. If it's linked you won't lose your village.
     
  14. iRacer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    #14
    Unfortunately that particular village is not linked to my game centre account. Another village is linked and as far as I know, you can only link one village and you cannot change it.

    We have multiple devices on the same AppleID, and they all have different villages on them.

    As I have upgraded to 6.1.6, we are okay until Supercell raise to minimum to something above 6.1.6.
     

Share This Page